Psyche logo

PTSDiscovery

Plant based, runner, young widow.

By Karen LichtmanPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
1

What's my story?

I'm not really sure.

What I can tell you is that six weeks ago I have a series of panic attacks over two days.

I threw my hands up to the universe and surrendered.

Really, I spent an entire night crying in my bed, until the Ambien kicked in.

I was introduced to PTSD by my psychopharmacologist, after I lost my boyfriend to liver disease, my mom to small cell lung cancer, and my apartment after my suicidal roommate set it on fire. It was a rough 18 months.

But I hadn't had a panic attack in six years. And what's more, the world was literally days a way from COVID collapse. Luckily, I was able to secure a new mental health team just in time.

So as I navigate my PTSDiscovery I will document my progress here, on Vocal.

If you enjoy what you see here, if it resonates with you, feel free to support me with a monetary gift.

I Need A Break:

Doctor's healthy orders.

Yesterday was April 1, and my first day of being on leave from work. Perhaps I should have done this sooner. I have direct contact with customers all day in Brooklyn, New York. I had a preemptive discussion with my doctor, an awesome woman, who does not want me to be so close to this Virus.

I am healthy and showing no symptoms. So I am taking the signs from mystical forces of the universe, and science, and time to heal myself. Rest. Consider my core. Redirect. Aim.

My new doctor wants me off of Ambien. I have spent the last week taking it later and later each night, in an effort to ween myself off. Last night I was able to take it at 10:30pm, and I only needed a half of a tablet.

Truth, I was still high from a half of a vegan cannabis cookie. I had done a video conference thing with my widow friends. Some of them were drinking wine, and I don't like the taste of alcohol. AND I don't do it that often. Saying that I use cannabis "recreationally" is even a stretch. I treat myself occasionally, to edibles only.

I had a phone meeting with an IV league school about getting an e-certificate in Nutrition. I signed up for a VO2 challenge on Strava. I would like to go and get my miles back.

What I Did Today:

Day by day, minute by minute, second by second.

• Woke up at 6am. Naturally. But with a headache. I had nothing to grab to eat along with a pain reliever. Oven roasted 5 pieces of frozen broccoli. Drank half a tablet of Nuun, Vitamins +Cafeine, Blackberry Citrus. Ate the broccoli with two Excedrin, Tension Headache.

• Took one single Host Defense Mushroom, Turkey Tail, Immune Support.

• Ran 1.71 miles in 30m:15s.

• Created art. And sat out on my fire escape for an hour, just to write.

• Another video conference with my widow friends. Loved it. But I could not concentrate on it for very long.

• 1/2 Ambien at 10:08pm. Another half at 11:37pm.

• Recorded that I drank 48 ounces of water.

Am I doing the right thing? This negative space is tricky. How do I shop? Nourish myself? What am I doing? Will I run out of money? What will happen?

==========

Nuun = www.nuunlife.com

Excedrin = www.excedrin.com

Host Defense = www.hostdefense.com

Strava

vdoto2

You can view my artwork at:

Tik Tok = @karenlichtman

Likee = @balabusta

You Tube = https://youtu.be/DRraPzaFtJY

anxiety
1

About the Creator

Karen Lichtman

Plant based. Runner. Young widow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.