Psyche logo

Psychological whiplash

When authority is taken to another level

By Kathleen McGillisPublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like

psychologists, psychiatrists, councillors, are all the same when it comes to mental illness. When it comes to mental disorders in children and teens, the only way to deal with it is to drug them up and hope for the best.... there are more natural options out there that have no side affects nor do the kids have to go through withdrawal symptoms if the parents can’t afford to keep up with the cost of the medication. My daughter suffers from depression and anxiety (among other things) and I’m trying to tell her dad that there are other things out there that can help her that will keep her healthy at the same time.... of course, they want proof or reading material for while their in the bathroom, that will convince them that what I’m saying is actually true. I told my ex to take our daughter off the medication, give her charcoal capsules to help her detox and I will send her what I know will help her better than that toxic crap that she was on. The problem with this whole situation is that poisons are better to push than natural remedies because there’s no money in natural remedies as there is in the pills that are being pushed. My daughter is only one of hundreds of teens out there that suffer with mental illness, what causes it, well, Trauma is a big thing, and that could mean anything from being physically hurt by someone to the divorce of parents especially when it happens while they’re still young. Forget genetics, that doesn’t always explain why these things happen, and psychologists and psychiatrists only know what they know because even they were only taught, not what they needed to know but, what others thought they should know, with the same restrictions that our children face, without even knowing it, when they go to school. Thank goodness it isn’t like the 1800’s when people were put in assylums for things like PMS or postpartum depression or just because you talked about something that scared someone and because it can’t be explained And it scared someone then you must be nuts so.... LOCK EM UP! I would have ran away with my daughter and helped her get better safely than see her go in a place like that. Not everything can be explained easily and when it comes to mental illness, there are no perfect answers but, using our children as guinnea pigs for profit is wrong in more ways than one, I’m turning 50 this year, I’m not on any medication for anything and that is how I want it to be for my children. I take a lot of health advice from my oldest daughter, why? Because she had done her research and I have no reason to doubt her, I have done some of my own as far as what will help my daughter be healthy in her mind , body and soul. I have even looked into bhuddism because I do a lot of meditation and I think all my kids would benefit greatly from that, and the study on feng shui is also another helpful tool. I know, you think “what does any of that have to do with mental health and your daughter” well, I will tell you.... when your home is not supportive or happy, mentally you start to wither, also, when your not being treated good, everything in your life will feel out of control so... get back in control, I tell her that she is the one in control and the only way I can help her is if she really wants my help. To feel better, we need to want to, not for anyone else but for ourselves. These “professionals” out there, think they know how to handle all kinds of mental health problems but the problem is they handle it the same for everyone, doesn’t matter what their age or background, the push the pills and let the families deal with the consequences or side effects of the drugs given. There is very little actual understanding when it comes to this and I’m not subjecting my daughter to it anymore.... especially when I know there are alternatives.

family
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.