Psyche logo

Perfection is a lie

Don’t listen to society

By Rosemary SlavicPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Perfection is never perfect. Society plagues us with this idea that we need to be perfect. There is always something that needs critiqued in some form. That makes us doubt ourselves. This perfection that society make believes is not good for our well being.

A while ago, I saw a YouTube short of a girl crying because a modeling agency said she was still too fat. This girl couldn’t have weighed more than 110 pounds. She had no fat and almost no belly. If she had been any skinnier she would have become anorexic. She was still not good enough even though she had just enough meat on her for her to survive as a healthy human being. We shouldn’t have to be unhealthy to be good enough.

A good example of a time perfection plagued me is my internship in college. I went to college for graphic design. As anyone knows with graphic design, it is a tough career to work with. Graphic design is like the top tear when it comes to perfection. The woman I interned for was not tech savvy, which is something I had no problem with. I am a decently patient person. However, when I began working for her, she gave me the impression that since she knew nothing of graphic design, (her words, not mine) that it was up to me as the designer what designs would be best to post on her Facebook to get traffic coming her way. This all sounded really good and I was ready to get started.

My responsibility as her designer was to post on her Facebook page two times per day. That was the bulk of what I did. The other half was to design and cut out some brochures that she could hand out to people. A part of posting on her Facebook page was she needed to approve of them before I posted them. At the time, I was using computers at my college to work so I only had a certain amount of time before I had to leave. She took her time in answering me and sometimes when she did finally answer she wasn’t satisfied with what I was going to post so she would want me to make a whole new post when I had about an hour or so left before I needed to leave. There were times she wanted me to do designs that were COMPLETELY different from what I was designing. In college, I had learned that when designing for a company, you want to keep the designs slightly similar so that way customers will be able to tell that it is something from the same company. This woman of course didn’t want to hear this. Even though the amount of traffic that I was getting on her Facebook page was reaching about five thousand people. When I switched up the designs the way she wanted me to, I wasn’t hardly getting any traffic because of the fact that customers couldn’t tell if it was her company or not. She became frustrated with me, thinking it was my fault that the designs weren’t good enough. This led to me feeling depressed and just simply as though I will never be good enough for anyone.

As this idea of perfection grows, the more our psyche deteriorates. We all begin to wonder when will we finally be good enough for that modeling agency, employer, our OWN critique, etc. I am under the belief that perfection will never be obtained unless we feel that we ourselves are good enough for us. That is all that matters. As the title suggests, perfection is a lie but only if you are following what society believes to be perfection.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Rosemary Slavic

Hi there! My name is Rosemary. I love reading and writing. I love the visualization of story and how it can make you feel so enveloped in it. I hope my stories make you feel as welcome as I do. Happy Writing!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.