Psyche logo

Panic Attacks

Daily Life of Fear

By Mary Kate McCormickPublished 7 years ago 4 min read
Like

If you're reading this, you or someone you know is probably suffering from panic attacks. Let me start by saying you are not alone. There are so many people suffering from this including myself. The feelings of fear, embarrassment, and hopelessness are all too familiar to me. I am writing this article hoping it will help someone else with this incapacitating problem.

The first subject I would like to cover is symptoms. I am going to list as many as possible, but know that there are so many different variations, but they are essentially harmless. The number one symptom I experience and read about is shortness of breath, this is caused by the short breaths or hyperventilating you may not even realize you are doing. Along with that comes the lightheadedness and sometimes confusion. If you know someone suffering from this, it is important that you remain calm and be a voice of assurance and safety for that person. Another big symptom is it mimics a heart attack. This is one of the scariest experiences. You will truly fear for your life but I assure you no matter how close to the edge you feel, you are perfectly safe. Panic attacks can make you feel tingling sensations and also burning in the head. It is important to remember this is just adrenaline being released in your body. These symptoms are scary and can cause PTSD. Don't let anyone tell you what you are going through isn't real. These symptoms are really happening and panic attacks are very real, but they are also harmless. I want to talk about some personal experiences I have had.

Before I start, I want you to know I am on a lot of medication for asthma and allergies already and now deal with a nicer medication.

When I was 18 I had my first panic attack. I had no idea what was happening to me, all I knew was that I was scared, but I didn't know of what. It lasted 2 hours. After I was shaking all night. My body felt as though I had ran a marathon. I was relieved that it was over and thought it was a one time thing. I was very wrong. My anxiety and panic got increasingly worse until I was going to the gym so often and not eating because of the nausea and became sickly underweight. I finally went to the doctors where I first learned about these attacks. I was put on Zoloft and given Xanax. Getting on anti-depressants is not a good experience. I had migraines and was always tired. I had to admit I was calmer. 2 years go by and I only had maybe 5 attacks, so I thought I was in the clear and began to get off the medication. I was fine for almost a year. And then it happened. I swore up and down I was dying. I couldn't get a grip and I called 911. When I finally calmed down some hours later I felt embarrassed. The doctors didn't help they just seemed fed up with me. After that I began a dark descent. I went through 4 months of non stop attacks. I had enough. I thought all hope was lost. So back to the doctor again and this time was put on Lexapro. Same deal almost 2 years on it and it made me lazy and I couldn't do much. So off I went again. Tapered down off the medication. Not even 2 months later I went to the darkest place I've ever been. Constantly fearing death, worried about the frustrated people close to me. So back again hopeless to the doctors. I am now on Prozac. It has been a month and it definitely doesn't make me tired, but I am still having attacks. I take a half to whole mg of Xanax everyday. I don't know about you, but I don't want to be this medicated all my life so I am going to share some coping methods.

The first one I suggest is hypnosis tapes. If you have a smartphone there is a good 35 min one called "End Anxiety." It has helped me through a few attacks and is very grounding. Another of my favorites is on Amazon video. It is called "Panic Attack and Anxiety Treatment." It is an 8 hour low light hypnosis you listen to while you sleep. It helps your subconscious learn about panic attacks while you sleep! It also puts you to sleep very easily. These work for some people, but not all.

Another method I suggest is research. Knowing what is happening to your body while it happens helps a lot of people. Study what happens and it will explain your symptoms and why you feel that way.

For people who hate to research or just need another method as well I would highly suggest looking for a support group in your area. Hearing others experiences and sharing your own is one of the best ways to cope. Sometimes you just need to get that weight off your chest and need people who understand.

The last suggestion I have is yoga. I used to think that would never work. Let me tell you how wrong I was. It centers you and gives you patience, which is key to getting through attacks.

I encourage everyone reading this who is trying to help someone with panic attacks to do research. The best thing you can do is try to understand what's happening and to make them feel safe. Always stay calm and never ask if they are okay. Talk about anything else to bring them out of their own minds. I want to thank everyone who reads this and I hope it helps you!

panic attacks
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.