Psyche logo

Pain

The Story of a Girl who Cut and Was Able to Overcome It

By Breann ElizabethPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

The cold and sharp pain of a razor against skin was the only thing that kept me sane. I was young, too young to feel like I was worth nothing. I was in 7th grade when I first picked up the razor blade from my step-dad's toolbox. I knew my intention and I was going to do it. The girls in my 6th grade class did it—it had to be cool, right? Oh, how wrong I was. I was naive, broken, distraught. I felt like I deserved the pain when I knew I didn’t. Most people would've said that I was looking for attention—oh, how wrong they were. I did everything in my power to hide it from everyone, especially my parents, and the thigh was the most ideal spot, easily hidden by pants.

This went on for a few more years, on and off. It was definitely a setback in my everyday life and it started to affect me in school as well. My grades never dropped tremendously, but I no longer had a smile on my face, I didn't want to talk to my friends, I wanted to be alone. Then in 9th grade, my parents started to take us to church again. It had been a couple of years since we last went, and I can honestly say I was changing. I started to listen to the music of gospel and to the words of the sermon and I actually believed. I started to read the word and it was my safe haven. I finally felt like I was loved by someone, that someone being Jesus.

Hurting myself mentally and physically was a huge setback. If I hadn’t started going to church, I don't think I would've stopped. I wouldn’t have learned a lesson that I will follow until the day I die. The lesson that I learned was something I found on my own accord. Bible verse, Revelation 21:4, was my salvation, “He will wipe away every tear from their eyes. There will be no more death, sadness, crying, or pain. All the old ways are gone.” I learned that I was loved and wanted and someone was always watching over me. I no longer felt like I had to cut myself. I didn’t stop right away, however. It was an addiction, and it isn’t easily stopped right away. I took me a few more months to actually stop. Even then, I still thought about it whenever I saw a razor. Now, it's been three years since I last cut myself. I still think about cutting myself, but having power over yourself is a strong thing to have. I make sure I go do something I love so I won't cut myself. Listening to gospel and being with my friends is definitely a huge help.

I also think about the kids I met in Honduras, the 12 kids in an orphanage. They were nothing but happy to live life. Even when they had nothing, they loved life. Going on that mission was a huge life changer. It opened my eyes and my heart. It made me focus on someone that needs love, but they also showed me love back. When I was helping them, they were helping me in more ways than they know. I learned that love is the best remedy for anything. Love is what I learned from my setback and now, I show others love. Being kind to everyone is a huge key in life. You don’t know what they are going through or what they went through. Anything could make a person break or could heal them. Show love and not hate. It could save someone when they want to break.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.