Psyche logo

Overcoming Abuse Pt Two

The nightmare lives on

By Kathy MohlerPublished 4 years ago 4 min read
2
Overcoming Abuse Pt Two
Photo by Kelly Sikkema on Unsplash

People say that when your addicted to alcohol that they can quit anytime they want. Well I am living testament that in fact that is false. You see addiction grabs a hold of not only a persons mind but their heart and soul. As it did to many of the people I loved.

I have been through alcohol abuse myself. At seventeen I started drinking when I was with my ex boyfriend JP. It for me was the only way to cope with the entourage of emotions that were going through my young mind. At that time I did not know I had bipolar disorder. I wouldn't find that out until years later.

Growing up I was a pretty happy child. Sure I had some difficulties having epilepsy and faced a lot of challenges but overall I was happy . I grew up with siblings that although we didn't always see eye to eye , we had each others back. My parents who were loving and supportive yet firm and no nonsense when it came to me being in the wrong.

It wasn't until I hit the teenage years that i began to act out. Nobody knew why but i was depressed and angry. I carried secrets that deep down hurt me to the core. In part would be the focus of my drinking and my downfall.

Fast forward a few years past the bullying and hurt that i kept hidden for so long. I began to lose control. Spiraling downwards. JP had done all that he could do to berate me and torture me in ways that are still hard to talk about. I began to drink away the pain that was being afflicted. First it was just a few beers. Then when that wasn't enough vodka straight became my go to pain reliever of choice. Anything i could do to just make it all go away yet day after day it was still there. The hate and contempt in his voice . The strength of his hits and the constant threats of death . It was there , it was just as real as it had been before. Yet the worse was yet to come.

One day I had been fast asleep, again I was about five or six months pregnant with my daughter. I woke up to being hog tied , a pillow over my face while he punched me over and over again. To this day i believe his intent was clear. He didn't want our child and was angry that I would not have an abortion when he first told me to . Not ask, told. Luckily and by the grace of god my daughter was not harmed. She was born healthy and grew up in a loving home surrounded by people who were not abusive.

After I had my miracle baby my drinking became worse as i had wanted to raise her on my own but knew deep down I couldn't therefore giving her to a family that I felt was a good fit. A good family that to this day i am still friends with. I felt like I was a failure. So low on myself that everything just seemed impossible. At the time it was hopeless or so I had thought. And the more I drank the less things I cared about. I was so sure that if the alcohol didn't kill me then JP would. In the end I had hoped one of them would have,

Here I sit today twenty three years later and sober and happy because i didn't let JP win. I took back my power and never looked back. Now more than ever I still fight the urge to pick up a drink. What keeps me from doing that is the fact I don't need it. Never did. It was just a temporarily fix to a temporary situation.

My advice to everyone who is hurting is this.... Alcohol may seem like a solution but in the end it will cost you even more than just a temporary fix. Best thing to do when hurting. Confront it head on and just take it a day at a time. Never forget that the road you travel now although hard it is necessary to reach the great things you longed for. Never let the darkness overshadow your light .

recovery
2

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.