Psyche logo

Not always sweet dreams

selective memories

By ASHLEY SMITHPublished about a month ago 4 min read
Like
time for a climb

When I am awake my memory is patchy at best, due to health and previous experiences. I know have brain fog curtesy of fibromyalgia to add to the mix. It makes the waking hours weird, some distant memories blended with some recent. Memories of 45 years ago fresher then some from last week. When I'm asleep it gets even more confused.

Mostly dreams disappear as my eyes open , some stick. Most of the ones that have fully stuck can be years old, in fact 2 I could trigger and would play back identically to before.

The first I used to be able to trigger was based on me climbing up walls, trees and anything put in front of me. Usually it started at my lates nans house, starting with a climb up through the walls to the roof. Then on along roof tops until I reached a concert hall I used to work in. I then climbed down in to the building to watch a concert.

The second was much more intricate and equally strange. I start sitting in the grounds of a large country hotel, I eat and go to leave the building and my path is blocked. There is an armed gang waiting to rush into the hotel, I run back in to warn people of impending doom.

The rest of the dream is taken up with a precise series of moves that allows me to escape with some of the staff. Lots of quick diving through random doors, climbing stairs and eventually out of a side door to freedom.

Also I have dreams that follow a theme if not a precise narrative. Recently there have been a few violent ones recently, usually ended with my wife shouting at me to stop hitting or kicking her. Whoever attacks me in my dream becomes my wife in reality, so if I strike out at the adversary she gets the blow.

Another common theme is being in a large building with multiple rooms, stairs and people. Some times I am looking for someone or something, the dream is me following a maze like course to reach my goal. Often there are people sleeping in the rooms, often I have to climb over people to reach where I am going.

This dream tends to end as many do, me desperately looking for a toilet. They are all female use, dirty, locked or otherwise not connected. This is my body telling me i need to wake up and find a real toilet in real life. Often dreams get randomly broken up by sudden searches for a loo. Once I have sorted the urge in real life I haven't managed to get back where I left off.

Other dream themes often include being on a boat or in a water park with many levels. The boat can occasionally double for the building I need to search, normally its a random trip between two random locations. The water park location included numerous different rooms, many with swimming pools and different inflatables inside. No idea what this is about, unless the water is a warning of the toilet dream to come.

Many years ago I would dream so vividly that I would have to check to see if memories were real or not. I often found myself at a car racing circuit, usually working track side. All around me there were crashes and fires, everyone crashing at high speed in to each other. At the end I would become aware of announcements of the dead and they were always modern day f1 drivers.

I also remeber from a lot of years ago dreaming about a plane crash, the same dream many times. I would be outside and would be aware of a low flying jet aircraft, I would look up and see a burning aircraft with people jumping out of it before crashed. I was a child when I had these dreams and it was long before 9/11 so I have no idea how the images got into my head.

I often hear that dreams can be interpreted and explained. I also heard that dreams were based around the last thing you were thinking about before sleep. I can promise I wasn't an 8 year old dreaming of crashing planes.

I don't recall dreaming about the future, I never saw the lottery numbers and never really woke up finding I had solved world hunger while asleep. The dreams to me just seem slightly weird, the weirdest I will finish with.

I am walking a street I recognise, its near where I grew up. Its late and I want to get home. The street is far busier then usual and suddenly theres a riot happening around me. Fighting, fire and weapons everywhere. I keep going and every shop and house is the same, an inferno from every building.

Once I finally reach home and apparent safety I relax and find my way to my room. For some reason my room isn't accessible like the other rooms. I have to use ladders, planks of wood and some extra climbing. Once I am in my room the dream ends with me watching the area I was born in going up in smoke.

listCONTENT WARNING
Like

About the Creator

ASHLEY SMITH

England based carer, live with my wife, her parents and 4 cats. will write for all areas but especially mental health and disability. though as stuff for filthy seems popular will try there . any comments, suggestions or requests considered

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.