Psyche logo

Navigating Depression in Business as an Artist

Redefining "Legacy" in the Face of Failure

By Sean CatinoPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
"Content writer" by itsmeritesh is licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0

Like many other unfortunate writers, I have been supporting myself by working in a dead-end job. Many of my skills I've developed while getting my BA in writing are in terrible neglect as I continue working at a resale e-commerce company which finds little need for someone good with a pen.

For me, life has been dominated with a passionless, never-ending chain of 9-5's. Everyday, I see my aspirations and dreams transform more into a childish pipedream. I always dreamt of success, reputation, and creating narratives that change people lives. I now sell discounted products that people's parents buy during their late night Amazon scrolling sessions.

To say I am discouraged and depressed is an understatement. Like every artistic soul, I am faced with a decision. Do I trade out my artistic passions for a more realistic pursuit or hold out on a break that may never come? There is no easy answer. In the past I have neglected so much in favor of my dreams. Past jobs, friendships, and whole relationships have withered away because I was so consumed with getting my degree and nurturing my passions. Now that it looks like I've sacrificed so much for nothing, what do I do?

"The write thing Project 365(2) Day 12" by Keith Williamson is licensed under CC BY 2.0

The answer to these questions is to redefine the current perspective. The current moment always seems to be hopeless; however, the retelling of famous artists' legacies always seem to make perfect sense in hindsight. As a struggling artist, why not give yourself the same treatment? If you have sacrificed something to get to where you are now, you deserve to give yourself the perspective that your struggles are just a rough patch before you can fall into the niche of your legacy. Be kind and patient to yourself; if things aren't happening now, there is objectively no way to say that they never will. Trust the journey, and trust your dreams— you have them for a reason.

In retrospect, I struggle with this myself, but I have found out that I have no right to put my own expectations on my own existence. Simultaneously we are both the creators but also the powerless spectators of our own lives. Of course the oxymoronic balance shifts depending on where we are, but it is important to remind ourselves that we cannot control everything. Objectively, we can only control the work we put out. Keep this in mind when you're working on the unsavory chapters of your life because they are just as important to the whole story of you.

The drain of navigating depression in the business world is a monster all people struggle with regardless of where they're coming from. For artistic creators, it is catastrophic for their own ability to create. It is important to nurture your own mental wellness and to manage your doubts. If not, the 9-5 will be fatal to your hopes and dreams. Keep you and your dreams alive because both are equally deserving of the success you crave. It is never hopeless, and you deserve it.

"365::115 - write" by .reid. is licensed under CC BY 2.0

(*Chronic cases of depression should be treated by a professional. The writing above does not discount the necessity for medical intervention in severe cases of illness. Please seek help if your depression leads to self harm or suicidal tendencies. *)

depression
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.