Psyche logo

My Testimony

by: Nerissha Hunt

By Nerissha HuntPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

When I was around 10 years old, I was baptized and taught about religion. We went to Sunday school; church service and we also went to vacation bible school which was 3 nights of fun. We did arts and crafts, ate lunch, watched videos about Jesus and took classes and answered questions. I did not understand the importance of going to church and being a Christian back then because I was under the impression that you are just supposed to come to church to have fun.

I turned away from God for a short while when I started my sexual addiction at 19. Moma told me if you cannot follow my rules, get out. I was 22 then and I was with what I thought would be my husband, so I moved out in January. The both of us got jobs that April. The relationship did not last but we all did find a church to go to. By we, I meant, me, him and his mother. The church was what is call non-denominational, meaning, that it does not have a certain denomination. I was 24 or 25 when the relationship ended on bad terms.

Although I was learning about God, I still had my sexual addiction. I was learning more and more every Sunday despite my sinful life. Sad to say, that addiction cost me my job because I was going on break and being gone longer than I should. There were other factors keyed in as well. At that point, I still did not realize just how important religion was. My sexual addiction continued until I finally thought to myself, this has gotten old and you need to stop. As the old folks say, you are gonna catch something bleach cannot wash off. We know what they are referring to. I had my share of health department visits as well and it was not fun.

But after a 10-year sexual addiction, a survived suicide attempt and management of my bipolar disorder, I am finally at a point in my life to where I understand just how important religion really is. No one has the same beliefs so do not try and force religion on people. I think that’s why religion is a difficult subject to talk about because people are so quick to judge one another instead of lending a helping hand.

I think a lot of people fear religion because you have “brow-beaters.” I call them that because you cannot get a word in edgewise with people in that category for them quoting a scripture or finding a parable in the bible matching what you have done wrong or are doing wrong. That is the last thing people need. We are supposed to encourage people, not discourage them. After all, someone had to teach us at one point and time, didn’t they? You can still be friends with people even though their lifestyle may not be the same as yours. There are a lot of my friends that do not go to church, but they are still my friends.

I am now 36 years old. Sunday mornings are exciting for me. I think about my past and I am grateful for living through all those experiences to get where I am now. A lot of people that have any type of addiction die from it. But I did not. I do not force religion on people. I talk to them about God but that is as far as it goes. If they ask me questions, I answer things to best of my ability. Lol, I usually have to google scriptures, but hey, whatever it takes. You just never know when the last time is that you will talk to someone or see someone.

addiction
Like

About the Creator

Nerissha Hunt

Writing is not a talent; it's a gift. My stories are transparent. Not fact, not fiction. They are in a category to themselves.

You never know what to expect.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.