Psyche logo

My struggle and Coping with Anxiety.

My ongoing battle with severe stress anxiety

By Kailee HarringtonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
1
My struggle and Coping with Anxiety.
Photo by Hello I'm Nik on Unsplash

My Struggle and Coping with anxiety.

**DISCLAIMER: THIS IS MY EXPERIENCE. I AM IN NO WAY TELLING YOU HOW TO DEAL WITH YOUR EXPERIENCES **

In this article I will be detailing out how I both struggle and cope with my ongoing severe stress/ Anxiety. To start not going to lie and I think most will agree with me it plain sucks.

I wake up and a simple task like getting out of bed and facing the day can kick start my anxiety. This involves wanting to roll over and just start crying because I don’t want to deal with anything. Most days I wish anxiety and stress never existed. Like one day i’ll wake up and feel normal.

Now it is different for everybody. My experiences and what I go through can be the complete opposite than someone else battling the exact same thing. For myself I find my anxiety can go in two directions: Mild or severe. I will of course go through what happens with both.

So a mild anxiety / stress attack for myself can be something as simple as something not going right. Wether i’m working on a task at work or doing small snip its around the house. When this happens I start to get frustrated and mad that its not working out like it should. Or I am doing something and mess it up a little.

When I have a mild attack I often cry for a bit and have to stop working on whats frustrating me. I have to remove myself from the problem so I can being to calm down and realize everything is indeed fine. During a mild experience, I tend to reach for the headphones so I can tune everything out and just let the music flow through me. I also love going for a walk as it not only provides fresh air but allows you to breath and let your anxiety go.

Now lets talk about what happens when it is more severe. A Few months ago I reached my stress limit for the first time. I was so stressed out I began hyperventilating while crying in hysterics. I absolutely could not catch my breath and I struggled to calm back down for a while. I had felt previously that I was getting to my breaking point, like you can just feel it when your about to reach your “had enough” meltdown. Thinking back on it , I can’t remember what had initially started the spiral that day. It was one of those days that one little thing kept happening one right after the other , eventually causes my emotions to irrupt. At first I had no clue what was happening. I felt like I couldn’t breath. It wasn’t until after that I had learned that I had experienced a stress induced panic attack.

That day it took bawling into by boyfriends arms for well over an hour before I could even speak. Fast forward to a week ago from the second I woke up I had nothing but stress, mostly financial. However Its been so bad lately all I can do is cry and continue to cry. I endlessly tell myself it will get better just to give it time. By now your wondering.

Now into the part of how I handle it. Unfortunately I’m not proud with how I handle it most times because it leaves me either embarrassed or ashamed of myself. With this more recent episode unfortunately I also had a eight hour shift at work and no I didn’t call in sick. Trust me it was tempting but I knew I could’t afford to miss a day, so off to work I went.

So let me explain something when I get stressed out as much as I was. The more I try to stop crying the worst it gets. Not going to lie I burst into tears a few times at work during the shift. However I am extremely lucky to work with amazing people and took a few minutes to talk to me each time I burst out crying. The only way I can calm down from a severe stress episode is to just let it play out. Yes that means , bursting into tears when I need to. Unfortunately its the only way I can get through it. I have learned to just let it ride out rather than force myself to calm down.

It’s an ongoing battle that as much as I wish it didn’t exist, does. I will say I have found activities that help keep me calm such as crochet and knitting.

Thank you for taking the time to read this article of my experience with stress/anxiety. If you wish to support by blog by clicking the tip button it would be amazing. Or just simply click the heart to like the article and maybe share it on your social medias.

THANK YOU <3

coping
1

About the Creator

Kailee Harrington

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.