Psyche logo

My Spiritual Connection Through Music

My Experience

By Victoria HeardPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like
West Vancouver Sea Wall

June 15, 2018, This Is Me Company, sharing my life experience.

Didn't get much sleep last night and I was having a hard time getting out of a funk this morning. Up at 5:30, 45-minute drive in traffic to work, where I arrive two hours early to avoid heavier traffic. Usually, I go to the gym, work out, then get to work and do yoga. I work at a yoga studio so I'm fortunate to be able to use the studio. But this morning I wasn't feeling it. I felt off and exhausted.

Thinking about my addiction struggles and worrying about all my new found responsibilities, I was feeling stressed out and overwhelmed. I'm just over two months clean from a debilitating addiction to fentanyl, crack, and crystal meth. I am trying to put my life back together. I haven't worked in almost four years, I recently got a new job, I signed a lease for a new apartment and I am starting to tackle that enormous list of neglected affairs. I can't help but live in fear, I am a master at burning everything to the ground, especially when things are going well in my life.

I decided to put my headphones in and take a morning stroll along the Seawalk in West Vancouver. I listen to Slacker Radio, with entirely random playlists.

Over a year ago I went through this magical recovery program, Charlford House for women. It was there, in music therapy, I learned the power and influence of music. It bypasses our brain and inspires our heart. A song has the ability to mean something different to everyone; it all depends on their perspective. Also at Charlford I built a strong connection with what I believe to be my higher power. My best friend James Enright, who passed away, he communicates with me through little signs, "coincidences," prayer, and meditation. These moments in my life, as long as I open my eyes to see them, allow me to feel his presence and I know I'm not alone. He's right here with me, he's got my six (Five Finger Death Punch reference).

As I start my walk, "I Hate Everything About You" by Three Days Grace is the first song to play. I listen to the lyrics and think about how much I hate my addiction, how much my addiction hates me. My addiction despises my potential, loathes my assets, and belittles my accomplishments. Deep down I hate that I love drugs, but, hey! I'm an addict. This song gives me a boost; my mindset starting to shift knowing I'm headed in a different direction today.

The next song to play was "Never Going Back" by Sick Puppies.

There's no going back,

When life's a loaded gun, you pull the trigger, trigger

There's no going back

The past is in the past

Thank God it doesn't last forever

There's no going back

Fuck that going back

There's no going back

Fuck that going back

As I'm listening to this song, I start to bounce in my step, and I was overcome with this feeling that James was letting me know I'm right where I'm supposed to be. I felt safe. Then I thought, okay seriously, if the next song is Five Finger Death Punch this is James. Now, remember how I mentioned Slacker Radio is COMPLETELY random. Not only was the next song Five Finger Death Punch, but it was my favorite song, "Far From Home." I started to tear up; I was overcome with happiness and gratitude for my life today. This song means so much to me. I believe, in my addiction, there were too many times to count... I shouldn't be here. And I believe it was James in heaven keeping me alive; he always believed in me. He makes me feel like I'm worth it.

I needed to express my gratitude and share this beautiful experience. There is no high, no drug that induces the euphoric contentment I felt this morning walking alongside the ocean, with the sun shining on my back and confirmation James has got my six.

addiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.