Psyche logo

MY SAVIOURS FROM DEPRESSION DURING PANDEMIC

Anime and Dramas

By Blake HuntPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
MY SAVIOURS FROM DEPRESSION DURING PANDEMIC
Photo by Yuris Alhumaydy on Unsplash

Human civilization has been brought down to its knees during this pandemic by locking billions indoors. In these situations, people are stressed and undergoing mental problems like frustration and depression. This is majorly due to many reasons, either because of losing their loved ones or losing their jobs or losing their relationships or due to any other reasons. In the end, everyone is getting affected due to depression, even though many are trying their best to cheer people on social media or other websites by organizing various programmes, events, or online concerts, still it does not work for everyone to reduce depression. That’s why suicide rates observed a huge spike all over the world. Surprisingly, most of them who are resorting to suicides are either well-known personalities or once upon a time, they were famous.

That’s why I found various other ways to suppress my depression levels for the time being. This article's motive is to allow those who want to reduce depressions. It may work for somebody depending upon the taste one has. I think whenever we are struck hard by reality then it will be better to forget reality for a few minutes and divert our minds. At this point, some might be thinking that resorting to consumption of alcohol is the best way to deal with depression but trust me it is not my cup of tea.

I have my methods; though these may be addicting also but depends upon the consumption quantity otherwise these will lead to becoming paranoid. The first thing everyone must do is to boost their confidence through various means because it is important for those who get depressed. Losing confidence is one of the reasons why a person is diving into depression.

I have tried many other ways and failed to drive depression away. In the end, I tried my three old ways of entertainment, which have entertained me a lot. Those are drama, anime, and BL series. These three drove my depression away but made me addicted to them. Why these three are so special for me that my depression got converted into addiction.

First, let’s discuss dramas. Dramas have many subcategories like romance, suspense, thriller, action, comedy, and many more. The above-mentioned are my taste. When I watch these, I get to experience all emotions at once and it made me feel the importance of emotions. When I was depressed, I only think of my failures and frustrations but the dramas show the failures and successes of various characters which inspired me to move against the depression.

The second is the anime. The field of animation is getting popular day by day because of the storyline and the graphics. One may argue that there are many series and movies which have much better graphics than anime but I want to remind that those are produced in small number and are not sufficient to soothe my heart whereas anime are in huge numbers and can attract the audience through graphics, visuals, humor, and emotional dialogues. Surprisingly, there are many animes that are much more inspiring than some series and movies.

In the end, let me tell you about the BL series. Those who are unaware of the acronym BL stands for Boys Love. Some may find it awkward but I don’t feel it weird because no one can deny the fact a series is more popular if the visuals of actors are mesmerizing, at least I think so. A BL series is well known not only for the visual of actors rather also because of the storylines that have been presented by many series. The issues that were presented in some BL series were eye-opening to me because I used to feel that no one in the world would have suffered like me. I used to feel that I am a victim but in the true sense those were all my illusions which I found through the BL series because the problems which are shown are serious and real. My problems seemed silly while in comparison to those and started broadening my views towards life and live the way I want.

These are some advice from me which are helping me up to some extent. I won’t claim that they are the ultimate solution but seeing the suicide news and reading suicide rates spike in surveys made me sad forced me to contribute something to those who are getting depressed. I agree that depression can not be eradicated, even for me. Sometimes at some point in a day, I feel depressed for few minutes but these things help to suppress my depression and my life moves on while waiting for my time to shine like a bright star in the sky.

depression
Like

About the Creator

Blake Hunt

Writing is my hobby and passion. I don't restrict myself to specific genre rather I enjoy writing about how I feel about things. I like anime and series and like to write my personal reviews and share my experience about that with readers.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.