Psyche logo

My Sanctuary

Anime Forever

By nikkoPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

What separates me from reality? What goes on inside my head? Where is my sanctuary? I was blinded from my passion from an early age, I knew that I love anime and the peaceful feeling that it provided me. It allowed me to forget all of my problems and believe me or not but at thirteen years old there where many problems such as transportation for school, single parent household, not being able to be a kid. But I am not here to cry you a river. Anime gave me an escape from all of these things and that’s why I love writing them. I have been writing for a few years and it is the most beautiful talent that I never knew I had possessed. When I was younger and even until this day I would stay up right up to the break of dawn to watch my favorite anime shows. Such as gundam, zoids, yu yu hakusho which will forever be my all time best anime opening forever, cowboy bepop, android kikaider and many more.

I could go all day about my favorite animes as a child but I would rather talk about the influence that it has given me to create my own. When I write sometimes I have an idea and sometimes I just think off the top of my head, that is the freedom I give myself and I would never allow myself or anyone else to change that. This gives me endless of ideas that I find myself lost in, taking myself back to the times that I were a child watching anime and forgetting about everything and everyone. Problems only exist if you do nothing about them but when I write anime I choose what exist and what does not.

Thinking back on everything from years ago and it‘s quite a trip. I spent most of my time watching anime and it never came to my knowledge, “Hm? This is so cool, I want to create this.” Who knows where I would have been by now, the countless anime or manga I could have written by now. There is no time to second guess or look backwards, I have to keep going and improving. This is my passion, this is my love and this is my future. So many ideas run through my head on a daily that I began to think that something was seriously wrong with my consciousness. Why can’t I stop thinking? I would occasionally stop and close my eyes to relax only to fail to do so. So I started to put my thoughts on paper and the rest is history, creating my own world to work from.

We all possess different characteristics, talents and hobbies. This is what makes us special in the world. It is only up to you to find your sanctuary, my journey began watching an alien boy with a monkey tail crash land to earth. You may know the popular story and better late than never I have been creating my own. It is just something about putting my headphones in and putting a pencil to paper that really allows me to express myself to the world. Our lives are on a invincible timer from birth, do not sit around and allow time to pass by. You have the ability and power to do anything that you want to do, writing anime is my favorite activity to break from the world but most importantly it is the mind freeing self help that I have so longed for. Welcome to my sanctuary, where freedom to think is not a choice, it is mandatory. Do what you love and love what you do.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.