Psyche logo

My Life’s Work is Similar to that of Edgar Cayce

But I Have To Set Firm Boundaries

By Iria Vasquez-PaezPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

I might be like Edgar Cayce, able to give good readings in trance. But I have limitations, unlike him. I have schizophrenia and need to take medication for it. I have to be medication consistent. Unfortunately, some people seem to get their panties in a bunch about my medication needs. I have to set limits on how many readings I would do in one day, if I get properly trained. He gave a lot of information out about how to use psychic talent, how to discover your purpose in life, and a lot of holistic health information.

Despite how terrified I am of medical school hours which are intense at best, I would like to become a standard western medicine psychiatrist, as well as an acupuncturist. Shrink by morning, acupuncturist for bipolars in the afternoon. There is a lot of material out there by Edgar Cayce. He did good work in life, but died a century ago, in 1945. His readings are said to encompass 10,000 different topics. My problem with the way he went about his work though is that he turned no one away which must have caused him stress, which is why he passed on as he did in the first place.

I cannot just pile on stress like that. I can’t. That could quickly make me manic or delusional. These days, the Association for Research and Enlightenment, the A.R.E., has a center, which provides bodywork, hydrotherapy, other boutique therapies like Donna Eden Energy medicine, and holistic clinical work. I could say I’m interested in traveling to Virginia Beach someday when I feel up to it. But well, I have limitations in how many readings I can give daily. I don’t even know if I want to do this for a living since I have plenty of stuff to get done, daily, in other fields.

I have many interests, at any rate. I still need proper psychic training from somebody who is not a whack job. Trance mediums let spirits communicate through them but although I can do this, it is kind of difficult to do with a diagnosis of schizoaffective on board. I prefer to use mental mediumship rather than other types of mediumship. Channeling is also something I can do but I rarely do it because I have to be careful what I let through. I’d rather keep that ability off indefinitely than use it and be unable to get out of a channeling state or a trance state for that matter.

Clear feeling is also called clairsentience. This is something I can do which makes me want to lose it. Clairsentience is not my thing. However, I have to limit the way I use my abilities anyhow, since mania can set in or depression, whichever, when I over extend myself. My medication helps regulate my abilities. This is why I am writing about this fact out in the open, if only to stop Internet bullies from harassing me about my need to use Western medicine. I have had people misunderstand insulin. You need insulin to cover the intake of carbohydrate. I have dealt with hostility from individuals who do not understand science, much if any of it, at all. I’m just grateful I have medication that helps me sleep by now. I spent a large portion of my life very sleep deprived until I turned 30. I still wake up in the middle of the night a lot but I can go back to sleep. I’m working on my sleep hygiene. I’m worried giving too many readings might be detrimental to my health. So unlike Edgar Cayce, I’m going to have to maintain strict boundaries that I hope the public understands.

schizophrenia
Like

About the Creator

Iria Vasquez-Paez

I have a B.A. in creative writing from San Francisco State. Can people please donate? I'm very low-income. I need to start an escape the Ferengi plan.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.