Psyche logo

My Life with Numerical Dyspraxia

A day in the life

By CarriePublished 2 years ago 6 min read
1
My Life with Numerical Dyspraxia
Photo by Mika Baumeister on Unsplash

This article started off being about how I use maths in everyday life. Then It quickly progressed into how I cope with being numerically dyspraxic. It’s not something I really talk about but I’ve shared my experience in the hope that someone out there reads it and doesn’t feel alone like I did for many years.

Isn’t life a funny thing?

This morning I woke up and had to calculate the times at which I’d take my medication (I currently have an infection). I have to split the pills six hours apart so I figure I’ll take one each at 10 am, 4 pm and 10 pm. (Note — I had to reword this sentence many times because I initially wrote four hours apart, then six am, then one pm and other times.)

I am diagnosed numerically dyspraxic.

To the uninitiated, it means I have difficulty with numerical reasoning. Sometimes I blank when trying to calculate something and the closest thing I can say is it’s like stage fright. You know, like when you have to stand on a stage in front of a large audience and sing. I blank out. It can be horrible.

This morning in maths

After working out my pill situation, I checked the time, then went and spoke to my mother about going out on an impromptu shopping trip. We discussed what time we are both free today. She has engagements later, so I had to figure out how long it takes to drive to and from the shopping mall (1 hourish each way), how long we would spend there (2 hours + coffee?) and if she would be back in time for her appointment later. We both figure it would be cutting it close so we are going to go there another day.

See? Maths is in everything. Even if you aren’t aware of it.

I’ve come back to my laptop computer and checked the time. It’s Saturday. I’ve just quit my job. Shall I watch a film? Shall I go out? What time will it be after I watch a two-hour film? 1 pm or 2 pm? (The Green Knight, if your asking). What year was it made? (2021) How long is it? (2 hours).

So, it’ll finish at about 1 pm. It’ll be too late to go on a hiking expedition after, given that it now gets dark in the UK at 4 pm. When I go and hike on the cliffs it takes me forty minutes to get there and then I can spend the best part of four hours exploring before taking another forty minutes to drive home. So that’s out for today.

I go downstairs and decide to fry the smoked bacon I bought last night. How many slices shall I have? How many are in the packet? How many slices shall I leave for the rest of the week? How long shall I cook them for?

I put the timer on. I turn the slices over after five minutes. I pop the bread in the toaster. How long does the toaster take? Will the bread be ready in time? It’s a new type of bread, is the time correct? will the toaster burn it? I also pop my hot water bottle in the microwave for one minute. Too cold. I pop it in for another thirty seconds. Just right! I put my tea bag in hot water for three minutes too. Any longer and it’ll be too dark and strong!

I sit down after breakfast and try to schedule the next two months with appointments and training. It’s difficult for me to predict how long I’ll be doing a task and at which time. How many days is the 25th away from now?

It’s 11 am and I’ve used so much maths, but I hardly ever notice it. Do you?

Dyspraxia and Dyslexia

I’m surprised I can use maths so freely in my daily routine but still have issues with calculations, numbers and timings. There must be a gray area where routine and maths complement each other. When I can carry on with my routine without freezing due to my difficulty with numbers.

I was diagnosed numerically dyspraxic when I was 28 years old.

The therapist told me that I clearly have difficulties explaining numerical processes I see. It’s like my brain can’t figure out patterns and I can’t describe them. He gave me some flashcards with shapes and patterns and I did a terrible job at describing what they were. He also asked me to remember different amounts of things and say them back to him at a later time. I have a huge report somewhere, I must fetch it out and read it.

Dyspraxia is not to be confused with Dyslexia, another learning disability when people can spell incorrectly or have difficulties with words and/or organizational skills. Dyslexia is related to difficulties with language learning. Dyspraxia is more related to motor skills and the visual perception of processes. (Food For The Brain)

There can be some crossover with maths difficulty in Dyslexia and Dyspraxia, but a person with numerical dyspraxia can reverse numbers, have difficulty with converting percentages or decimals, and/or can’t find numerical patterns. Similarly, like me, some people can make mistakes in relation to reading tables of data, and/ or can’t visually imagine the space between shapes. (SCIPS)

Of course, there are thousands of variations in what people with numerical dyspraxia experience and what they can or can’t do. I can confuse dates and times in addition to calculation difficulties. I can count up to 8 x 7 = 56 in the 8 times table and then my brain starts to get scared if I carry on with 9 x 7. Sound ridiculous when I say it out loud.

Dyspraxia in my life

If you told me to remember a word last week and say it again today, I’d probably recall it correctly. But if you told me a number, there’d be no way on earth I’d remember. I’d probably say it was 7 if it was 8 or 6. It’s just how my brain works. The more I write about this, the more I want to research numerical dyspraxia in psychology and development.

In complete contrast, I am more than comfortable with communication, talking, writing, expressing my feelings vocally and using difficult terms in English. I love the English language.

I do however find it difficult to learn other languages and until I did some research today on SCIPS (Strategies for Creating Inclusive Programmes of Study) by the University of Worcester (in the UK), I didn’t realise that my numerical struggles could be a contributing factor.

So there can be different variations in what people with numerical dyspraxia experience. Perhaps some days it’s different too. Today I can’t quite remember the time of my doctor’s appointment on Monday but it could be as clear as day to me tomorrow. That is the beauty of nature. We can but accept it and try as best as we can.

Final thoughts

If you don’t have a learning disability, please be patient with those who do.

A person may not be able to remember the time you were meeting, or even the amount of items that they should have bought. Give them space and guide them in the right direction. My dad is Dyslexic and I often give him a little extra time to remember things (he usually says right instead of left, up instead of down and many things in the opposite way).

Also, If you have a learning disability, don’t be afraid to reach out for help. There are many resources available online to help you cope. There are community groups, forums, therapists — all at the touch of your fingers. Universities and schools have special advisors who can help you (if relevant). I get extra time for my exams. If you are employed, you may be able to get allowances, like special equipment or extra time to complete tasks. Like me, you can get more time if you need it. Don’t suffer alone.

Please leave me a comment if you want to talk!

coping
1

About the Creator

Carrie

I write about instructional design, development and travel.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.