Psyche logo

My Life with Anxiety Disorder

Here's how I cope with it.

By Sarah LoydPublished 6 years ago 5 min read
4

In 2012, I was attending church on a rainy night. All of a sudden, my hands start to sweat, and my heart starts to race a million miles an hour. I rush to the women's bathroom with the fear that I would have a heart attack or pass out. It was so hard to breathe because my chest was tight. My mom finds me in the bathroom and takes me outside. When I describe my symptoms to her, she tells me I'm having a panic attack. It was a surprise to me. At the time I didn't feel panicky. That's probably a foolish thought. However, my mom tells me that a panic attack can happen for no reason. She suffers from the same condition.

I was so afraid of having more panic attacks that I continue to have the same symptoms for weeks. It became a never ending cycle. Weak, nauseated, and scared, I begged my mom to take me to the hospital. I was afraid that something worse was happening to me, but the doctors told me the same thing as my mom and referred me to a psychologist. When I explained to him what I was going through, he says that I have agoraphobia. That means I avoid situations or places where I feel trapped or helpless. It makes sense, I do fear that a panic attack would happen in a public place. When I do have one in public, I instantly want to go home. However, I don't consider myself agoraphobic, just a very anxious human being.

So Why Am I Telling This Story?

Because I know there are others who suffer from some form of anxiety and probably go through it every day, like me. Knowing that makes me feel less alone, and I want to help someone else feel less alone with this story. I also want to share how I manage my anxiety. Hopefully, this will help people feel like they are not trapped by their nerves.

Tip #1 Know Your Triggers

In my case, anxiety can flare up for no reason, but for most people there is a reason. It can be a variety of things like stress, depression, work, even lifestyle changes. Once you know what triggers your anxiety, you could either avoid that situation or learn how to be prepared for it.

Tip #2 Try Yoga and Meditation

Yoga is not only good exercise, but it also helps with your breathing. If you can find a breathing technique that relaxes you, use that whenever a panic attack comes up. Yoga is also good for clearing your head and relieving stress. Meditation also teaches you breathing techniques and ways to relax. You don't have to be spiritual about it if that's not your thing. It's just good for clearing your head and calming your mind, like yoga.

Tip #3 Listen to Music

For me, music is a huge part of my life. It has helped through a lot of struggles. When feeling anxious, put on those headphones and play something that makes you happy or relaxes you. Even playing an instrument or singing could ease that bodily tension. After all, you know you're in a good mood when you start to dance.

Tip #4 Avoid Caffeine (at least for a little while)

Now caffeine doesn't cause anxiety, but it does make the symptoms feel worse, especially if you're having trouble breathing. If your panic attacks are severe, or it last for more than one day, take a break from any drinks with caffeine like coffee, tea, or soda. However, there are some non-caffeinated herbal teas that could calm your body rather than hype it up. As long as there is no caffeine in the tea, it wouldn't hurt to try it.

Tip #5 Start A Journal

Writing in a journal is how I vent my frustrations with anxiety or anything else in life. Sometimes, we just need a release, and that can be done through a diary, writing music, poetry, or even a story. This may not take away the physical struggles of anxiety, but it will take away the mental struggles.

Tip #6 Pray

I understand that not everyone is spiritual or religious. I just know that for me, as a Christian, praying to God gives me hope. I feel that He gives me strength and is easy to talk to. So, if you like, pray to whoever you pray to for guidance and strength to get through your anxiety. Pray that the fears will go away. You'd be surprised how much weight is lifted off our shoulders when we pray.

Tip #7 If Necessary, Don't Be Afraid to See a Doctor

If your anxiety is as severe and frequent as mine, it may be best to see a doctor and talk about treatment options. For a while, I felt embarrassed by the fact I have to see a psychiatrist and take medication for my anxiety. It made me feel weak, like I can't take care of myself. But seeing a doctor for anxiety is nothing to be ashamed of. Just talking to my doctor and my mom makes me feel better. It's good to get it all off my chest.

I hope these tips will help. Sometimes we need extra help because we can't do it all on our own. We all need to be there for one another when the going gets tough. We need to lift each other up. We need to be reminded that there is always hope. If I can get through my anxiety, so can you.

coping
4

About the Creator

Sarah Loyd

I love movies, music, TV, and all things entertaining. I also love to write poetry. Follow me on Twitter @musicl0v3 and on Mix https://mix.com/sarahloyd You can also find me on Pinterest @sloydmarie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.