Psyche logo

My life is a soap opera

I thought I was one of them...

By Tyger JacksonPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

OK so you all know pretty much how my mind works...kinda. Now try navigating things in this world that get thrown at you with a mind like that. Some of it is my fault, some of it isn't. When I was little, things seemed so easy...PSYCH things have never been easy for me. when I was 12 years old possibly 13, 14 maybe. well I was young and in middle school. I had this friend I met in 6th grade. She was so nice to me. I felt like she understood me for the most part except for the part of me being a total dork and completely uncool. yeah, I wore corduroy Winnie the pooh overalls and had absolutely NO style whatsoever back then. Anyways, this girl became my best friend. we were together all the time. Then our circle grew a bit. we were all the misfits of the school that had banded together.

We all did things together like casting spells, and playing with a Ouija board my mom got me for Christmas...hahaha. who gets there kid a Ouija board for Christmas? well my mom did and, I loved it! I would take it over to my friends house when we would have sleepovers. we would play truth or dare and do spooky stuff. we did regular stuff too like putting each others clothes in the freezer but mostly we did spooky stuff.

I remember one time my best friend and I were playing with the Ouija board and she quickly put a cross in her mouth. I don't quite remember why though but it was kinda freaky.

Eventually my friend started dating a guy from another school. Him and his best friend would come around all the time and hang out with us. I was way into the friend but he was never into me. story of my life. At least back then anyways.

One night on Halloween, My friend had a Halloween party at her house in her barn. we were all hanging out. The whole crew (did I mention there were like 5 of us?). At one point after My friend decided to burn a bible, which actually made me pretty uncomfortable, we were all in the barn and the lights went out. Nobody was near the light switch. We all screamed and ran out of the barn. It seemed like everyone was kinda freaked out about it. I could feel the bad energy around the barn. Not too long after the night was over and we all went home.

About a week later I started hearing footsteps in the house when I would get home from school. It would sound like someone was running up and down the stairs. So I would grab the phone and go outside on the balcony and wait for everyone to get home. My mom would get frustrated with me and tell me nothing was there, but I felt it. whatever it was, It was pissed and torturing me. At night I would hear footsteps run up to my bedroom door and run away. they sounded small and fast. I would hide under my covers barely able to move. When I asked my mom if I could sleep with my parents she would tell me I could sleep on the floor next to the bed. Which didn't really help because I would be scared something would grab me from under their bed too. So I mostly just stayed in my room, with the lights on, terrified. listening to the footsteps. Running up the stairs, all the way to my bedroom door and back downstairs for most of the night.

Eventually my mom took me to therapy. She thought there was something majorly wrong with me, but I never thought there was. I was just frustrated that nobody was listening to me about what I was hearing. I got put on meds for a little while but was never kept on them. My mom said they made me like a zombie so she stopped giving them to me. Then she put a T.V. in my room and we moved my bed away from the door. Having the T.V. on at night helped me tremendously. focusing on something other than the footsteps. Eventually I stopped hearing them and they went away. I think it was because I wasn't really scared anymore with the distraction.

My mom told me several years later that the lights in the barn at the Halloween party was just my friends playing a prank on my. Someone had snuck off and turned off the lights and everyone started screaming and running outside. They were all in on it. I didn't realize until later that none of them actually liked me. So eventually, my best friend didn't like me anymore either.

coping
Like

About the Creator

Tyger Jackson

I've done a lot in life and as frank Sinatra says...I did it my way!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.