Psyche logo

My Goal Is To Celebrate Fifty Years Of Long Term Recovery

And I have just 8 years + about 3 months left!

By Denise E LindquistPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
3
My Goal Is To Celebrate Fifty Years Of Long Term Recovery
Photo by Kendall Scott on Unsplash

I am a woman in long-term recovery from drugs and alcohol. I work a one-day at a time program. I have had lots of one days. With many celebrations in the time I have already been in recovery! 50 is a good goal though, don't you think? Not many people reach 50 years of recovery.

50 years in recovery is a good goal to have!

Ten years ago now I had cancer. The cancer I had was termed treatable, probably not curable. Meaning I may die from that if something else doesn't get me first. I am a cancer survivor after five years I'm told. I haven't beat cancer though I'm told as mine appears to not be beatable.

I choose to believe I can be a cancer survivor!

What else might get me first? I have atrial fibrillation. I have a mitral valve issue that they have fixed twice now in the last 8 years. I am diabetic and have been diabetic since 2001. I am obese, yes, my weight qualifies me for that label. I was considered severe obesity at my top weight.

I am not alone with obesity as there are 42.5% of the US population considered obese or 2 out of 5 people. I never made the morbid obesity as there is that category too.

My lifestyle is far from where it needs to be. I am starting physical therapy (PT) in July to get an exercise program I can stick to. My cardiologist referred me. I will see someone twice a week. I hate to spend so much of my summer there and yet, it is time!

My diet is not considered a diabetic diet, or maybe it is as it changes regularly. Carb counting is common. I don't do it. My daughter went on keto. Then plateaued and went to intermittent fasting and carnivore. She is no longer diabetic. I don't do that either.

What do I do? I have allergies or sensitivities. Coconut, beef, gluten to name a few of the worst. Adjusting to that can be a full-time job. Then I can have itchy ears and stomach upset due to pet allergies. And everyone in my life has pets. That is another thing that the pandemic has contributed.

A pet for every person.

By Annie Spratt on Unsplash

I don't want to wait for 50 years to celebrate, so I will celebrate in September this year and for the rest of my life in September for my long-term recovery, just as I have always done.

I am a woman in long-term recovery and what that means for me is that I haven't found it necessary to drink alcohol or take drugs since September 26, 1980. It is too easy to substitute addictions. I have struggled with some of that in my recovery and may continue.

In the meantime, I attend support in different ways from the Native American culture, with ceremonies, and celebrations, and then there are other forms of sober support for me and sober support for me as a family member!

I was 24 years old when I first got into recovery. I stopped using alcohol and drugs when I was 26 years old. I stopped for my children. They kept me stopped for a while and then I had to stop for myself.

I was able to finish college in recovery. I never cared to be wealthy. I always just wanted to be able to take care of myself and my children. To be able to help family and friends if they needed help. I realized I would not have lived long if I wouldn't get and stay in recovery.

I have had many years to heal from all the trauma, grief, and loss of a life of addiction. A life I was in for about 15 years. That sure doesn't seem long now, but it was enough to cause me enough problems to last well into my recovery. I am comfortable in my life. I have a loving family and friends.

Long-term recovery is the best and I strongly recommend it! Life in recovery has been truly awesome! 'Beyond my wildest dreams' as the saying goes!

recovery
3

About the Creator

Denise E Lindquist

I am married with 7 children, 27 grands, and 12 great-grandchildren. I am a culture consultant part-time. I write A Poem a Day in February for 8 years now. I wrote 4 - 50,000 word stories in NaNoWriMo. I write on Vocal/Medium weekly.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mariann Carroll2 years ago

    Wow, Thats an Amazing story. The content in your stories are worth reading. I drown to this story because my brother is having a hard time recovering. Do you have a story on that?

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.