Psyche logo

My battle with in!

My story by me

By Shannon PitkaPublished 4 years ago 2 min read
Like

I grew up in Fairbanks alaska and I grew up as fast as I could. In a hurry for sure. My mom was a single Parent and when she married her first husband I was out. So then I moved with my grandma who gave me anything and everything I wanted. Now I thought since i didnt ever meet my dad that I was missing something and tried to find it with every him I could find only to end up without a him and no love. Turning to drugs as a main source of LOVE so I thought.

I’ve been in a love, hate relationship with drugs all my life. From smoking weed to the main battle heroine. That’s when the real battle took over at the age of 35 when a buddy handed me over about 3 grams of a black sticky subtles that he said was black. He wanted me to sell it for him cause by that age I was wheeling and dealing everything under the sun and making money to fuel my addiction to crack at the time. So the person I was trying to sell the shit to asked how it was and i Said good I guess. She says you guess. Well I don’t want to buy something that’s not good and we tried it. Putting it on a piece of tin foil and smoking it. After that day I didn’t go every long without doing some cause you can get extremely sick without it. And not so long after that I was putting a needle in my arm. My life after doing heroine intravenously was not my own anymore. I found myself in the system with felony charges and after detoxing for 11 days in a jail cell with the help of DOC I kicked it for the first time. You see if you ever known what it’s like to forcefully stop using you don’t put your whole heart into recovery. So I experienced my first round in treatment, and went back another time to the same treatment center I got sober in the first time. I found out a lot about myself . But staying sober is a hard job and it’s a continuing struggle for me today . I wish I Could tell you that my addiction went away to never come back but it did but now I had enough of that life style and with the help of my higher power first and for most, my family and my true friends I continue to battle the battle with in

addiction
Like

About the Creator

Shannon Pitka

I was born and raised in Fairbanks alaska. I’m 45 and never been married.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.