Psyche logo

My Amazon Addiction

The beginnings of a shopaholic

By Rayana S. WalkerPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
My Amazon Addiction
Photo by Wicked Monday on Unsplash

Since this pandemic started I've been in a very bad headspace mentally. I was laid off, I had to move back in with my parents, I had 2 children to take care of, another one on the way, and as of late I have been diagnosed with Post Partum Depression. So what have I done to try to combat the ever-growing sadness, anger, and pain within myself? That's correct. SHOPPING. Now I haven't been going store to store shopping in store or online just buying anything that catches my eye. Just the one stop shop for my any and everyday wants and needs. AMAZON!!!!!!!! Now yes at this moment and since 2 months ago I have definitely calmed down and have gained some self control, but I wanted to share with you all how it gotten so out of control it became an issue. At first I was buying new baby clothes, a new rocker, a new crib, and other such baby materials. Then the guilt came, my older children weren't going the get the same attention they're used to, they'll feel like I don't love them anymore, they may believe they aren't special anymore, and because of that I decided to buy them both special gifts. My oldest I bought a kids digital camera and a big play salon set and my then youngest a Barbie Fashionista doll, and a Disney Princess grown up phone, credit cards, and car key toy set and then to share I bought them a Disney Princess pretend curio coffee,(or as I tell them Hot Chocolate), machine. Their little faces lit up when they saw what was in those boxes. I felt so happy to give them something they really enjoyed. Then I had this feeling I needed to buy something for my parents for letting me stay with them, just to show how much I appreciated the sacrifice they made for their freedom. So I went back to my favorite place and got them both, beautiful, different colored, coffee or tea cups. They are made from Glass, sculpted 3D designs on them both, and they just look so amazing in person. I honestly couldn't help myself, I knew how much they enjoyed their tea and/or coffee time and by their first impressions of them, they were. Then I got myself a new pair of really nice fuzzy socks. But that's how it all began.

Thank you for reading so far, I'll be coming back another time to finish what happens next. Please take care of yourselves out there and stay safe.

addiction
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.