Psyche logo

Mental Platter

Serving up life hacks with a side of psychology

By Shenica GrahamPublished 4 years ago 5 min read
1
Mental Platter
Photo by Luisa Brimble on Unsplash

Welcome to Mental Platter, where your psych plat du jour is always up and looking good. Searching for a specific mental health topic? Let me know. I'll whip up something tasty for your neurons. Need a fashionable life hack? That's my specialty! Stay tuned for my #fashionforword lexicon. On a journey to a new you? Me too! Let's walk a ways together and share a cold one (I mean lemonade, of course).

New to Mental Platter?

Now that you have found the best place for all things vogue in mental health, here's to your makeover that won't leave you broke. You can finally change your entire life trajectory without ending up in a psych ward. I'll teach you how to go from madnight to daybright (dark hour to overcome). One thing a bipolar knows is how to use a little mania.

Why Mental Platter?

Did you know that 5 percent of adults 18 years or older experience mental illnesses in any one year? That equates to 43.8 million people according to Mental Health First Aid. The same source states that in the U.S. alone, 4 percent of adults have one mental health disorder; six percent have three or more disorders (as I do). That amounts to major challenges when it comes to occupational opportunities.

That is why I started Mental Platter, to share my life hacks that have helped me to gain stability amidst multiple mental health disorders. Mental Platter is also backed by the support of two growing educational programs that teach practical skills to decrease the prevalence of debilitating symptoms of mental illness and promote maintenance skills for mental health.

SandLine is a psychosocial rehabilitation program tailored to the unique needs of at-risk populations including youths, teens, and adults, living with mental illness and or addiction, within or transitioning from the justice system. I don't just vouch for it, I created it. I know what it can do with the foundation of a single-minded purpose. Participants are empowered to overcome obstacles in life, relationships, education, career, and business. If you follow me, you'll get a front row seat to the SandLine program. You will also get some great content from my psychology courses at My Psych Teacher University.

My Psych Teacher University is a fully online educational community offering flexible interactive courses specializing in mental health and other topics under the umbrella of psychology. Courses, tutorials, and services help students transform their mental health journey from anywhere in the world at their own pace. The goal of My Psych Teacher University is to develop well-rounded psychology scholars (equipped to lead and serve in the world today), by serving as a one-stop source for all mental health needs – including courses, resources, therapist referrals, professional licensing, etc.

What is a psychology (psych) hack?

Psychology is the study of the mind, its functions, and behavior, but you don't need to be a therapist to make it work like a boss in your favor. A psychology (or psych for short) hack is a psychological method, strategy, or technique applied to life in order to help you manage your time and daily activities more efficiently. Psych hacks and life hacks in general, can help you to be more successful in your career and help you reach your personal and professional goals.

There are certain psych hacks that naturally work for most people because the brain has a standard and masterful design common to humanity with the exception of some birth or accidentally derived defects. There are also some psych hacks that work better for certain types of people, such as people with certain mental illnesses. We'll talk about them in a later article.

Broadly applicable psych hacks include journaling about your mental health. Writing involves critical thinking, reflection, and the voice in your head. Without going LIVE, you already have an audience of one for what you write as you process it through reading. Writing allows you to edit and revise your thoughts, which you can actively change to form more positive beliefs when what is off the top of your head is something negative.

According Psych Central, journaling (or keeping letters or diaries) is an ancient tradition dating back to at least 10th century Japan. In addition to psychological and emotional benefits, there is increasing evidence to support the notion that journaling has a positive impact on physical well-being.

All you need to know is that there is nothing as powerful as a changed mind. If you can change your mind, you can change everything. So, mark today on your calendar and set some fresh goals. Mental Platter psych hacks will help you live your best life.

What makes me an expert?

Not much - just thirty years of PTSD sprinkled with schizophrenia. I am literally crazy about what I write, and I know what works. Yesterday, I celebrated nine months of recovery following what seemed like a mid-life crisis (not my first rodeo, but hopefully the last of its kind).

I began having symptoms of mental illness as a teenager and so understand many of the issues that complicate challenges facing youth including suicidal ideology. Now in my early forties, I live mental health from both perspectives of patient and life coach. My goal is to empower those living with mental illness and to educate those working with them.

My unique spin on psychology is what I would call a stylish cooking voice. I mingle recipes with the latest fashion trends that keep the endorphins coming, then mix in some research and writing to keep all minds clear on the facts. You can expect to find articles and anecdotes among daily quotes and book reviews.

Since drawing my line in the sand (delineating the end of my life as a victim and beginning of my life as an overcomer) with the SandLine program, I have tried to be more cognizant with counting my blessings. It is like a happiness key – not a small, specific, numbered, only fits one lock key: it is like an old-fashioned “skeleton” key that opens any door. You choose the doors to open (and the ones to keep closed (the downers)).

Final thoughts...

Now that you know what my channel is about, I hope you will keep coming back to get your full of the Mental Platter. It's all good. If you are nourished like I know you will be, feel free to like, comment, share, and send me a tip on Vocal. Thanks for reading Mental Platter.

----------------------------------- END -----------------------------------

Bookmark my Vocal Profile: https://vocal.media/authors/shenica-graham

Like me on Facebook: http://facebook.com/shenica.graham

Follow me on Twitter: @shenicagraham

Join me on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/shenicagraham/

support
1

About the Creator

Shenica Graham

Shenica Graham holds a BA in Psychology and BA in General Studies. She teaches psychology courses, specializing in mental health disorders. She offers courses that help students develop practical coping skills for mental illness.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.