Psyche logo

Mental Health

Conquering It

By Sam WoolaverPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Mental health...

What a word. Most of us suffer from it; whether it be anxiety, depression, schizophrenia, OCD, PTSD, bipolar, and so many more. Often, we wonder how? Why? What did I do to deserve something so awful?

The way I see it, in most cases, mental health often stems from experiences. Sometimes it does run in one's family and and others, it's from what you have been through. This life can be cruel and unfair and can often lead to a spiraling downward spiral into mental illness, which you think you can never get out of.

Mental health is a very taboo subject and everybody has a different way of coping. Sometimes it could be medication, talk therapy, journaling, meditation, or working out. Whatever path you decide to choose for your mental health is most likely all trial and error. I have talked to therapists, doctors, I have taken medication, and I have also tried group therapy.

For me, medication always freaked me out. I was taking a Prozac for nine months, with a total of three increases in doses. I found that, to be blunt, it didn’t work for me. I was on another medication when I was younger too, and that, too, didn’t work.

I hit my rock bottom. I had finally had enough of being unhappy. When I would research things about trying to decrease depression and anxiety, often times it would say try things like meditation, talking with friends and family, working out, eating better. I didn’t believe any of that. Until one day I decided “this is it.” I was tired of being on Prozac, I was tired in not believing that changing your life physically, could have such a wonderful impact on your life mentally. I eat better, I work out almost every day, I downloaded a meditation app on my phone, I watch inspirational YouTube videos and documentaries, and I have a few select people I talk to which is better than any therapist could ever do. I started taking care of mySELF. Loving mySELF and not worrying about anyone around me, just for two seconds. I wake up earlier. The sun rises while I rise. The sun sets while I set. I am in tune with the world and everything around me and I believe if you put GOOD energy into this universe, the universe will listen and give you positive energy back.

The law of attraction is real. It is a magical little thing that can change your life.

I’m not saying go off of your medication or that medication is not needed, but in some cases, medication is not needed and you have the power to control your mind. You have to rewire your brain.

Be kind to yourself. Be selfish. Love with all you have and realize that this life is beautiful and it is short. In ten years from now, the bad things you’re going through will not matter if you don’t let them matter. YOU have the power to control how you think. Sometimes you cannot control a situation, but you can control how you react to it.

Our minds and bodies are so very important. Take care of them both equally; starting now!

coping
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.