Psyche logo

Me - human

Blue Birds Thoughts - chapter 1

By Joanna GolczynskaPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
Photo by Joanna Golczynska

It is my first night trip through my reality. Sky full of stars and somewhere in the middle our Moon. Earth's natural satellite. From here it's so bright and mysterious. You would never say that this is only reflected light coming from the Sun. It gets me thinking how so many things are so much different than they seem to be. We see little bright object in the sky called star and we don't even realise it might not longer exist in the Universe. We don't think how big or from how far it's coming, we just see it shining.

While I am walking in this dark streets, full of lightened up banners of the local stores I can feel how real it all is. Cold wind is touching my skin and makes me feel somehow relieved. Being here in this moment, just on my own, helps me see more. It gives me opportunity to catch the moment of my life so I can enjoy it. Walking down the streets embraced by darkness and mystery of the night, I couldn't help to wonder, how my life has changed since I got here. All that I experienced and people I met are part of me now.

So many times I was wondering, what does it feels like to just die. When your skin gets colder, your organs slowly stop working and you just stop worrying. You simply close your eyes forever. But is that all that happens? What are the other emotions? Did you ever wonder how you might feel beside being scared? I think I would be also curious what my family will do after I pass away.

We might actually get an answer on that question. As there were lots of cases where people get back from the dead. How could that happen? Until September 2019 it was a common knowledge that we have about 5 to 10 seconds until human body and brain will unreversibly die. The assumption was challenged by doctor Sam Parnia, Director of the Critical Care & Resuscitation Research Division of Pulmonary. He claims that after death we have hours if not days after death will be irreversible! It's the restoration of oxygen and blood flow back into organs which gives our body some time to be saved.

But not only our heart is giving us an opportunity to live again. Brain is even more powerful (when we are alive of course). Our brain is the most powerful tool on the planet. We can do way more than we think. Human brain can storage 2.5 million gigabytes of data! So why aren't we all geniuses? There is a catch to all that. Human brain only remember things the way we like to remember it. It separate the knowledge from the context and in time we remember what we've learnt but not the source of the information.

Another phenomenon about brain is that we can actually made ourselves sick or healthy only by believing in it! You'd say it's impossible but I will argue. It is indeed possible! The answer is simple: endorphins. Research shows that when we are hoping to get better and believe that we will, our brain is likely to produce chemicals that will boost our body's healing power. On the other hand when we have negative thoughts and no hope, our brain goes with what we think and we are not getting better. That is called Placebo and Nocebo Effect.

We learn and absorb the knowledge and more we know then we realise that there is way more to discover. "I am thinking therfore I am". That sentence is simple but in the same time really deep. It makes me see how remarkable human beings are. We are the most intelligent creatures on this planet. But longer we exist, more destruction we do to the planet. So is it all worth it?

Nowadays, with all the pandemic and the vaccine, we get so scared that we forget about logic. We need to realise that all the viruses were always part of our world. They were here before us! Let's just be reasonable. It's not the end of the world. At least I think it's not...

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Joanna Golczynska

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.