Psyche logo

Managing Anxiety

Creating a Daily Management Routine

By Candida ReecePublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like

Everyone has experienced anxiety in some form. Even if it was just as a child, when things were still new and they were forming their personalities. Generally, it’s something the average person is able to work through and overcome. Having anxiety because you have a presentation to give, or you’re going to have to do something unfamiliar, is normal, and will usually fade once the situation is resolved. If you have an anxiety disorder, it doesn’t work that way.

For someone with an anxiety disorder, the anxiety will keep stalking you, overwhelming you with irrational thoughts and feelings. It can take over your life, and keep you from doing something as “simple” as answering the phone; or, it can have a more serious impact, such as preventing you from forming any lasting relationships. To minimize the effect anxiety has on your life, it’s necessary to find methods and tools to manage it.

=One of the ways I’ve been able to manage my own anxiety is by coming up with a daily routine where I take a little bit of time to focus on myself, and do what I think of as “preventative grounding techniques.” I look at this as a kind of like one of those things I have to do every day make sure l am as healthy as possible, like taking medications, eating right, and brushing my teeth. Managing my anxiety is just as important, and should be for you, too.

Your routine may not consist of the same things as mine, because they might not be what calms your mind and helps you focus. Figure out the things that work for you and adjust the below plan to suit you. You can choose to do this in the same place, at the same time everyday (this works better for some people,) or, for those with a more unpredictable life, you can develop methods you can do anywhere. Some people may need the environment to be very quiet, while others need music to get focused. Try different things until you find the combination that works for you. My routine is as follows:

  1. I listen to the same three songs that help me get control of different emotions. One is for any angry or frustrated emotions, one is for anything that has me hurt, or sad, and the other is balanced music that leaves me feeling positive when it’s over. I won’t share the names of the songs because they would not seem to match up to those emotions. What matters is that the songs get those feelings out of my system and help me balance myself.
  2. While listening to the first song, I either write, or do something productive, like house cleaning, when I’m capable; or, I do something anger-releasing, such as safely destroying junk, or using a punching bag. Either type of activity will help release the emotions intended. Getting them out helps.
  3. While listening to the second song, I again either write, or scroll through support groups either for support, or someone who needs a few kind words. It always helps me to focus when I have a problem that isn’t mine to focus on because of the type of person I am. For you, this may not be a good time to be online, if doing so adds to your anxiety. Be smart about the activities you choose
  4. During the third song, I will usually just listen, with my eyes closed, while doing breathing techniques and my own little version of meditation.
  5. At the end, because I have chronic pain from Fibromyalgia and other chronic illnesses, and my stress seems to greatly affect my body, I also do some light stretches and simple exercises designed to be easy on those with chronic pain.

Making sure I put aside the time to do these five steps helps minimize my anxiety so that it’s not sneaking up on me throughout the day. You can use whatever calming techniques work for you. Maybe you’re an artist, and drawing is cathartic; or, you love flowers, and smells help you center yourself. Perhaps you like to read. Find a few websites or books with shorter stories that you can make time for each day. Others are more into things like sports, working out, hiking, etc. Just figure out a way to make a daily routine and stick to it. It may take a week or so, but you’ll eventually feel the change in how you can go about your day.

You don’t have to let anxiety control your life. Find the combination of techniques that help you manage it, and be vigilant in using them. Take back some of the control that anxiety has stolen from you by controlling a period of time each day, and using that time to focus on self-care. Develop your own daily routine, and use some of my other tips for managing anxiety, to minimize its effects on your life.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Candida Reece

I'm 39 & write about living with multiple chronic illnesses, anxiety, and PTSD, as well as hot topics, relationships, addiction, domestic violence, parenting, and finance on my bluntly honest blog- Written by Dida at writtenbydida.com

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.