Psyche logo

Living with the past, in the present.

Surviving abuse.

By Triple TPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

I have lived with repressed memories most of my life, and I had no knowledge why. I had an inkling that something bad must have happened early in my life. But I didn’t know what. People kept telling me that if I didn’t remember anything “I must have had an amazing childhood”. I remember wondering “How is that true? How can you assume that? I literally do not remember!”. But it was easier for me to agree with the sentiment than to try and understand why I didn’t remember. It’s only in the last 10 years that I have begun to remember what happened to me when I was 9 years old. But it’s only recently that I have actively begun to try and unravel the events.

On the 6th of May 2021 at 5:51pm I reported my sexual abuse to the Police. The crime against me happened in a different state to where I live, and that made it complicated. So, I reached out to a resource to assist me. When I pressed the button to finally, officially, submit my report, I couldn’t believe the way I felt. The emotions were positive. I felt relief, pride, satisfaction, grief, exhaustion, sadness, happiness, and like the weight of my lifetime had finally lifted from my shoulders. Finally, I felt that the shackles were beginning to come undone. But I was wrong. The shackles had come off, only to allow space for new ones to be fitted and fixed in place. A new set of challenges was about to confront me.

For most of my life I have lived with undiagnosed complex mental health conditions, that I am only just beginning to understand. Growing up with a narcissistic parent didn’t help, where I was constantly belittled and demeaned. I was told that I was “too reactive” or “too emotional”, that “nobody” would ever love me because I was too reactive and snappy. I was never asked about why I felt or acted the way I did. I was just told that I shouldn’t be that way. So I learned to pretend. I used fake joy and enthusiasm to hide the depth of my sadness, and I began to unravel in other ways.

As a teenager and young adult, I had strings of unhealthy relationships. I was extremely co-dependent, and I felt that my sense of self-worth was only validated when someone else was “in love” with me. I never developed a sense of self love or self acceptance, because I never understood the complexity behind why I didn’t love or accept myself. But how could I when no one else in my life did?

In recent years, I have found a Psychologist that I enjoy working with. Maybe it sounds weird to enjoy working with a Psychologist, I don’t know. But I do. I enjoy developing my level of self-awareness, and understanding my triggers and the reasons behind them. It is only during this time that I have been able to step forward, and realise why I have anxiety, depression (mild), and complex PTSD (complex post-traumatic stress disorder). And understanding the why is making me further understand how I move forward, and how I manage my mental health. And, as I learn more about what happened and the way it has impacted me in my life, I am able to more readily work through my mental health challenges.

I never realised the reasons behind why I shut down during an argument, or why I respond to stress in certain ways. I never really understood why I was emotionally volatile. Why I couldn’t help but develop significantly challenging catastrophic thinking patterns. Why I struggled to maintain healthy relationships. Why. Why. Why! So many why’s.

And to be honest, I still don’t know the answers to all of the why’s. And, maybe I never will. But it’s okay. Because I’m on my journey of healing now, and I can’t wait to see what the future holds for me.

As for the new shackles? Well, they're still being fitted. And that's a whole other story.

ptsd
Like

About the Creator

Triple T

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.