Psyche logo

Living with Anxiety

Welcome to my life.

By Just A GirlPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Living with anxiety is like living in hell. That's basically my life, every day, 24/7.

Everything in your life could be great. You could have money, a great relationship, a beautiful home, a family, or even doing your dream career. But that doesn't stop anxiety from coming and attacking you whenever it feels like it. It sucks so bad that you have such bad mood swings because your moods change every couple of minutes or hours.

When I go into public places, I will be fine entering the store and getting maybe halfway through the store until my eyes lock with a complete stranger. My heart starts racing, my face turns red, and I'm suddenly lightheaded. I start going into panic mode and shutting down. Sometimes, I leave my cart that's filled with stuff right in the middle of the aisle, bolt out of that place, and rush to my car.

Both the biggest and smallest things can cause anxiety. It comes when it wants and leaves when it wants. It could come in like a wrecking ball or it could just creep on in.

Anxiety can be caused by different things depending on the person. For me, it was caused by having two really bad relationships with two different ex-boyfriends. Sometimes, we are blinded by the way people mistreat us because of the words they drill into our minds. Until we finally realize we are in a bad situation and get out of it, it could be too late and anxiety has entered our lives and we didn't even know it.

Another big thing that can cause a person anxiety is someone who has been bullied, whether it was at school, work, online, or even at home. That is where a lot of children 17 or younger suffer from anxiety. No child, or anyone for that matter, should have anxiety. It's cruel, but we can't control it unless we are on medication or find some other way to control it. That is just life.

About 40 million adults 18 and older, in the US alone, suffer from anxiety. But only 36.9 percent are on medication for it. I feel bad for the people who suffer anxiety and think the only way to control it is with medication. Medication is the only way to feel normal.

How do I deal with anxiety? There are some days where I need medication to help me, but not always. Writing helps me a lot of times. But also being with my fiancee helps. I feel safe with him, that nobody could ever hurt me when I'm with him. He holds me sometimes and just talks about any and everything to help me calm my anxiety down. He is a great support person.

Trying to be confident is hard. It's like a war zone. Anxiety against confidence. 75 percent of the time anxiety wins, but there is still that 25 percent of hope for confidence.

To me, a way that a person can help their anxiety is either finding the right support person, whether it's a friend, family member, or their significant other. Or they could find their special talent like writing, drawing, playing sports, or something else, and do that whenever they have an attack.

I tried therapy, and still do every now and again, but I don't feel like it always works. I've gone to two different places, and they both just stare at me when I talk and don't say anything. I know that's what they are supposed to do, but that gives me major anxiety and makes me feel very uncomfortable and judged, even though I know that's not the case at all.

There are many other ways a person can attempt to control their anxiety attacks. Some ways work and others don't, but that depends on the person.

anxiety
Like

About the Creator

Just A Girl

A 24-Year-Old Self-Published author, a mother, and a college student.

Loves to write and read fiction... (Especially Romance

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.