Psyche logo

Life After Severe Writer's Block

Why Not Be Another Writer Writing About Coffee (or Anything Today)?

By Seriously CaringPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Life After Severe Writer's Block
Photo by Jan Kahánek on Unsplash

Something about severe writer's block is that it could be a little frustrating for some and for someone who Mastered Creative Writing and after struggling through life, yet completing the English Education degree (and after considerably high level extreme arduous struggles), is that it might be more than a little thing: in fact it could mean nearly everything to you and as a writer by heart, as a humanity enthusiast, expressionist, multi-talented writing artist, and an extremist in the name of bravery, truly intended heroism, and significant influence of real world merit via writing.

So three years of severe writer's block was actually everything horrible to me. I really felt after all of that and all of that caring and significant respect to valuing language and how it could possible be implemented, it was a tragedy, and even abhorrent.

Today is different. Today I am recalling times in my life when I was able to write and my head was over-stocked with ideas of how to wield words, write messages of love, faith, hope, and encouragement. I was ready then to write novels, screen plays, and even a comic book series. I had ideas galore for text books, essays, poems, articles, or anything to be put into valuable text: writing.

But today was different. At first it was music reviews, then it was my funny story about being new found mixed in race (and in real life) which was a unique experience to me, then it was remembering having been a hero and having already written yet lost the piece about being a hero who jumped into a pool as a life- guard (I lost a lot of technology from theft in my life) and every time, losing my accounts or unpublished documents. There are some remaining most of which needed significant formal editing (a skill i finally have now but after the set in of writers block co-encoding with account access to unedited material block, and also encouragement block from lack of social support.

So it was abhorrent, a shame, a tragedy, and serious. It was severe... but then, I wrote.

I wrote, and the feeling of caring about it had somehow returned (just in the last week! It's a fresh feeling and not ancient. It's a real feeling and not fake. It's a beautiful feel.

It's not bad...

I was gifted once, and I thought I had lost to the world of bad people.

Anyway, so now, why not write about anything?

I was sipping coffee on the balcony of where I was staying in America, and the air was hot and yet cooled by the shade, so I was comfortable, and the coffee was sitting elegantly in a deep red perfectly rounded medium- large mug on a wrack which emanated some traveler beauty (for I was at a lodge where travelers lodge). There was a softly faded (old) brick wall behind it, and the scenery beyond the balcony was simply a grassy area, a small cute walking path, pine, and vine.

The vines were hanging down over the pine tree, and they emanated a feeling of magically thick textured (or a complexity) of foliage. It was an evergreen feeling, and sacred garden feeling.

My coffee had been sipped at but the cup was still more than half full.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.