Psyche logo

Life After My NDE

The struggles and blessings of a near death experience.

By Mark BacotPublished 5 years ago 2 min read
Like

It was a hot summer day in North Carolina and the family decided to head out to the lake to cool off and enjoy the day. This was a big lake, with very deep waters and I remember that you couldn’t go out very far before it was over your head. I was around the age of 10, and I really wasn’t that great of a swimmer and got frightened anytime someone tried holding me down or pulling on me in the water, so I stayed pretty close to the shoreline. I remember being on the shore when I noticed that my sisters had all gone to the end of the very long pier, or at least to me it seemed a mile out into the dark water. I decided I wanted to go be with them, so I ran down the pier afraid of missing out on anything fun. I remember almost reaching the end where my sisters all older than me had gathered sitting on the edge when I started to slide on the wet pier floor and flew right off the end into the lake.

It all happened so fast. I remember when I hit the water, I instantly went under because of the height and speed I was traveling. I remember coming up once and struggling some before I went back under. I tried to get back to the surface, but I panicked; I now had no air and was choking as my lungs filled up with water. What happened next was amazing. I found myself standing on the floor of the lake, not struggling, not anything; just standing there looking around. I wasn’t afraid or I don’t think I even knew seconds earlier I was struggling at all. I was at pure peace as I watched the plants sway with the current when suddenly off in the distance straight ahead of me was a most glorious beam of light and it was drawing nearer and nearer. I remember how happy I was and the light comforted me and made me glow. The light now was upon me and I was consumed by it when suddenly my eyes opened and I was choking up water and my vision was blurred but I could hear voices. I began to realize I was lying on the sand with my father standing over me and so many other strangers and life guards. How did I get out of the water? Well, it was one of my sisters that was a pretty good swimmer that went down many times to find me. In all actuality I most likely was down on the bottom long, but to me, time stood still. I never spoke about what had happened to me down at the bottom of that lake and to this day some 39 years later I still haven’t told my family. What begins to happen to me in the months ahead would be traumatic and terrifying to anyone especially a young boy. Stay tuned for my next story and find out.

trauma
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.