Psyche logo

Letter from DC's Vet psych ward, Pt. 2

Because Freedom isn't subjugation.

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago 5 min read
1
Pic by me; on 23APR2022. Exactly three days after I hit 33y/o. I mused a coveted felt tip marker on incredulously scarce printer paper.

1AUG2022; 1941, MON- USA

[Content warning: Slightly sacrilegious; and gaudily graphic for a hot sec. Please pardon the pun; tho, patience appreciated in advance.]

The following is the 2nd half of a letter I "penned" while doing my latest stint in a ward. My main aim in submitting this piece for publishing is to be that particular son of a gun who all but singlehandedly reigned in a leviathan.

Without further ado; and here's to you, the reader:

*** [Continuation] ***

At any rate, last one in this ballpark, so to speak: I worked out with a seasoned Green Beret a couple times; towards the end of my enlistment. That old SF (Special Forces) Soldier of the U.S. Army reminds me wholeheartedly of Holistic treatments.

Not to be confused with homeopathy/naturopathy. Just a quick caveat: I find it incredulously remarkable that they're both "pseudoscience", and the very mechanism of action for the renowned "inoculations"; commonly referred to as vaccination/vaxxing.

Anywhos, that soon to be retired, and undoubtedly decorated son of a gun giving me holy hell in that base gym would've likely rather save more lives as peacefully as possible. As opposed to needlessly using his training/experience for nefarious purposes.

I tend to at least make an honest effort at avoidance of lumping groups of people in small "boxes". Even still, I'll gladly search intently for one of the broadest paintbrushes available while declaring psychiatry to by and large be inherently evil.

In case you're wondering why exactly am hour's time passed in between this third page and the prev.: I had to explain to several nurses, twice, why I refuse to comply with yet another arbitrary psychiatric Rx that I never even thought to consider acquiescing to.

Contextualizing again: Most of these deadly chemical concoctions that some refer to as "meds" are hardly safe without some sort of simultaneous sustenance (re: food). Subsequently tho, I was "offered" enough sedatives to (Heaven forbid) kill a small woman; especially with her stomach being empty.

I was graciously given a small fruit cup to "help" my body absorb it somewhat safely. I'm barely a buck-fifty (150 lb [pounds]) "soaking wet". Additionally, I was provided a ham sandwich with glee; even tho I haven't intentionally eaten meat in years.

I gave up pork/swine well over a decade ago, btw (by the way). How is this egregious error even remotely excusable? Oh, yeah: "Free" so-called healthcare.

Better still, it's "treatment" from the very same org (organization) that save a whole lot of monthly expenses if I (God forbid) pass away early whilst under their "care". How quaint.

This is [pg four; 2219 (10:19 PM)] more or less the perfect segue into my main argument for the American Psychiatric Association, et al. agreeing to immediately "cease fire and stand down!" The man, the myth, and the legend known as Sherlock Holmes declared on one occasion, at a bare minimum, that doctors are best equipped to secretly get away with murder.

Obviously, his creator, Conan Doyle was a fellow fallible human being. Curiously enough tho, he reportedly based his ubiquitous character on a contemporary that was coincidentally a genuinely talented medical professional.

I know of at least one homeopathic treatment that could, in a sense, tell psychiatry to see itself out; and never even contemplate returning in anything vaguely resembling it's current incarnation. A figurative head to head matchup between the two fields would arguably be very much akin to a fully fit U.S. Airborne Ranger getting into a brief round of "fisticuffs" with a 17-years old, potential U.S. Air Force recruit; who's never threw a single punch in anger.

My marker and I are undeniably running out of stamina; despite our relative youth or whatnot. That being the fact of the matter, I dare to inquire a couple of these dire questions that unquestionably come to mind whenever hearing someone purport that psychiatry is effective and safe:

1.) What are the conclusions of the "investigation" into the investigation of the belated Charleston Four? (Til Valhalla, Brothers.)

I've never heard of a group of Vets all passing away simultaneously and unbeknownst to one another; while in the same general vicinity, to boot! Less still, all taking strikingly similar variations of "meds" as prescribed.

2.) What sort of accountability, and/or preventative measures (if any) were put in place to avert another mass suicide event; like what occurred at the Phoenix, Arizona Veterans Affairs Medical Center? Those dearly departed Vets had the audacity to expect their gov't to refrain from putting them on secret waitlists for their vital mental health "services".

What the devil! Bonus query: What percentages of the "unacceptable" 22 per day United States service members/Vets committing suicide, and/or the perpetrators of mass casualty events in the U.S. were actively taking/recovering from the global psychotropic epidemic; that regretfully claimed the lives of those aforementioned Fallen Heroes from Charleston, West Virginia?

I'd bet my bottom dollar (which will soon be worthless regardless) that it's "slightly" more than one or two. Conundrum wrapped in a quagmire; ostensibly, anyways.

Just come clean, psychiatry. You'll unquestionably feel like a million bucks, that happens to not even be blood money!

Full disclosure: I've been wrong before. Namely?

Trusting psychiatrists...

Sincerely, and a victim of yours,

D. [Redacted] SGT, U.S. Army (Ret.); Girl Dad

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

humanity
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.