Psyche logo

Letter from DC's Vet psych ward

Part one

By Nefarious DarriusPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 5 min read
1
Pic taken w/ a phone, by yours truly; on my Born Day

30JUL2022; 0102, SAT- Washington, DC, USA

[Content warning: Slightly sacrilegious; and gaudily graphic for a hot sec. Please pardon the pun; tho, patience appreciated in advance.]

The following is the first half of a letter I "penned" while doing my latest stint in a ward. My main aim in submitting this piece for publishing is to be that particular son of a gun who all but singlehandedly reigned in a leviathan.

Without further ado; and here's to you, the reader:

***

8APR2022; 1901, FRI. Washington, DC, USA

To psychiatry,

[Expletive] you; two times. All jokes aside, who died and made you fuhrur (sic [correctly: fuehrer])?

I can't even look up the proper spelling of Hitler's infamous title, at present; thx to you, largely (IMHO [In My Humble Opinion]). Even still, I'd like to quote the notorious "genius", often known as Ye, or Yeezy (i.e. Kanye West): "I hate [y'all] more than the nazis..."

In all seriousness, I don't know that the nazis would/do/can hate y'all more than I do. Clarifying: Psychiatry as it is now could quite feasibly be the epitome of odious; by any sort of objective standard.

Lucky for you lot that "Truth is subjective"; at least for the time being. I like to think of myself as a pragmatic optimist tho, believe it or not.

Sure, I'm frequently accused of "preaching" doom and gloom. Also, I'm technically an ordained minister; since my Pops' Born Day in 2010.

That's coincidentally when I was deployed to Iraq. Whilst I was praying to make it to my 21st; in no less than two months.

Regardless, I "actually factually" believe that the USD is long overdue a debacle of a devaluation. Conversely, I "truly duly" know that the USA will rise from its ashes; just as the phoenixes of lore did.

Regardless of my poor attempts at waxing poetic, your pendulum will eventually swing too. The world at large shall likely be obligated to reckon with the realization that you haven't evolved much past the days of lobotomies, leeching, and bloodletting.

The way I see it, and in spite of my disdain for binaries: I only see a duopoly of a crossroads rapidly approaching for you poor souls in leadership. 1.) Continue on, *BUSINESS* as usual; and pray that Americans really do have goldfish-like memories/attention spans.

We, and the world in general, may just decide to convince ourselves that you "professionals" were merely doing the best y'all could; with the info that was widely available. On the other hand, what if we conclude that ignorance, in the Information Age especially, is the worst conceivable excuse?

Some food for thought to marinate on a smidge. Flip side?

2.) There's an immediate and resolute consensus among psychiatry's leadership, worldwide, that y'all concede; repent; and atone. Antithetical to the patently American infatuation with optics?

Sure. Same time, there's a strong chance (IMO [In My Opinion]) that many will soon be praying for the opportunity to be (Heaven forbid) staring down psychiatrists thru the optics of firearms and crossbows. [pg two; 2021 (8:21 PM [EST]).]

Morbid to an extreme? Affirmative.

However, and in the interest of properly contextualizing: My 5th/6th grade math and science teacher randomly described in vivid detail why crossbows are unequivocally ideal weapons for justifiable homicide against peeps who intentionally prey on prepubescent children. "Awk-ward!"

Still, ironic that many of those same individuals are suppose to be praying over the youth instead. Cheap shots at [Redacted] pedophiles notwithstanding, what if y'all collectively decided to come clean?

Us red-blooded Americans "might could" be of one accord in sparing the lives of an overwhelming majority of you wannabe "shrinks". Hell: We may just oblige you low level practitioners to some semblance of Freedom as well.

Before I illustrate a few of my reasons for asserting that it's y'all's "serve" in this proverbial game of pickleball: I prefer to elaborate on why more than an entire hour passed prior to my initiation of this second page. 1.) I had to prep to defend myself, out of the blue, from a fellow Vet.

This honorable Hero apparently has some type of dementia. Mercy me.

2.) There was my fav Love interest of all time patiently waiting for me to rush to a public phone; just so her and I could catch up briefly, while strategizing again. I will never be worthy of this Lovely Lady in any way, shape, form, or fashion.

In any event: 3.) I had to alternate between the incoherent ramblings of yet another Vet, and ministering to this particular Service Member. With one of the Bible's that I was essentially forced to plead and supplication for; obviously.

"Such is life; no?" It's certainly a day in the life of a thru and thru victim of psychiatry.

I regularly joke that no specific day for me is average in these unprecedented times. Then again, I proudly told Homegirl and another BFF (Best Friend Forever) how I finally did 100 push-ups in one day, once more.

Nevermind the fact that my personal best is 728 "up and downs"; in a single set. It took me approx 30min; and several months of working up to that point.

All in all tho: My knees never touched the floor that childhood bedroom of mine, til completion of that product of 7*104. Whereas my Moms (sic) foolishly tore up the carpet shortly afterwards.

Anywhos, if that isn't one of the most palpable examples of comparative mediocrity... Since us humans are supposedly among the best at identifying, recognizing, and categorizing patterns tho:

Your infamous field of "medicine" is personally reminiscent of my Battle Buddy who was incapable of even a [pg three; 2121 (9:21 PM)] meager 25 of these signature military physical fitness exercise.

This was during Basic (Training), aka Boot Camp. Of course, we were Grunts/Infantrymen/Bushmen after finally graduating from One Station Unit Training (OSUT).

His improvement was minimal at best; throughout us becoming a part of "The Queen of Battle". I don't have the time, energy, nor space to give half as many comparisons as I'd generally be inclined to.

***

[To be continued.]

***

***

Prayerfully, you gained something pertinent (re: useful) from this post. If so, then please think about considering a show of support; however you may see fit.

Additionally, I'm easily reachable via Twitter. That's for private and/or public convos on the works written by me, my fav writers, as well as my other influences too.

The link in my bio will "counterintuitively" have that unmistakable tab in its main menu. Invariably, there's a tab in the very same menu cyclically returning you to my profile on this unfathomably superb site for writers.

Shoutout to all Vocal's inventors/staff/readers/writers. "[Y'all] the real MVP."

Lastly, if you're in the market for an incredulously original article of clothing or such: There's copious amounts at the link in my bio. Please don't believe for a NY minute that I'll be even remotely unappreciative of any all who "look out for the cookout".

***

humanity
1

About the Creator

Nefarious Darrius

I'm a Grunt who’s been stuck in traffic for the past few decades or so. From DC to Seattle & Iraq; to back in "The Swamp". Also, I Love my Progeny more than life. Born Day: 4/20. Lastly, my apparel brand, War 'N' Tees is live! One Love.

***

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.