Psyche logo

LEMONAID Health

Taking Care of Your Mental Health

By L. M. WilliamsPublished 3 years ago 4 min read
Like

I've struggled with my mental health for most of my life. Considering all things, I've been pretty lucky though. For quite some time I'd been able to manage things without outside assistance, but over the past year my anxiety has become completely overwhelming and out of control. And as most individuals who have anxiety and depression know the vicious cycle of these two feeding off of each other. I either spent days oversleeping or not able to sleep at all because I couldn't turn my brain off. Eating was extreme or nonexistent. And for the first time in a very long time I had the desire to hurt myself again, mostly in the form of scratching my skin (sometimes to the point of bleeding) to help calm my worst anxiety attacks. One night as I stood in line at CVS to buy extra large Band-Aids, normally a completely inconspicuous item but somehow felt dirty like I couldn't let other people know what I was buying--and more specifically why I was buying them--, to cover the deep scratches on my thigh that I finally admitted to myself that I needed help.

The question was what kind of help did I want/need? I knew I would probably need a therapist, someone to talk to because I felt like I couldn't speak to my family--mostly because I didn't want to worry them--and it was probably time for me to start some form of anxiety medication.

*Sidebar, for the longest time taking medication for my anxiety/depression seemed like a huge taboo. There was this enormous monstrous cloud of stigma hovering over something that I probably could have been benefiting from for quite some time now, but I was terrified to try it due to the horror stories I'd heard from friends of how meds didn't mesh with them and they felt like zombies and this feeling that I was just completely crazy or claiming that I wasn't strong enough to take care of myself on my own. I've now come to terms with accepting that this would be no different than a diabetic taking insulin.

It might take time to find the right fit for you, that balances you out right, but isn't it worth it if you can finally feel some resemblance of normal? (My exact words to myself, sometimes tough love is needed to push you that extra step.)

So I began my search for a service that had what I needed and I stumbled upon LEMONAID Health.

(Google ad for Lemonaid Heath)

Not only do they provide a ridiculous amount of different services for all your health needs, but for all of my fellow introverts out there and people who have crippling social anxiety, look no further because all of their services are ONLINE.

You no longer have to deal with attempting to fit in an appointment around your work schedule. You don't have to struggle with the pharmacy who always seems to have your information wrong or "misplaces" your script and asks you to wait an hour or two or come back tomorrow.

LEMONAID makes it easy and simple to get what you need. Within a 2 hour window after my initial log in, I took a health assessment quiz, entered my information and had a brief tele-doc call to establish my needs and prescribe me a start dosage and medication. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and took the time to listen. My prescription was put in to their pharmacy and mailed to my front door within 3 days.

This painless process from start to finish made it super easy to completely follow through instead of giving up or getting deterred halfway through.

Upon arrival, each package is discrete and inside is your prescription, an info card about the company and LEMONAID team, info sheets about the medication(s) you're on, and I always receive a little chamomile tea bag. It's the small things that make it feel personal and that I'm valued.

After the first couples weeks (roughly 10-16 days) of being on my medication, I received a check-up call from a nurse who checked to make sure the medication was working well for me, if I was experiencing any side effects, and if I had any questions. The call was sweet, short and simple, but it was really nice to have someone reach out to me!

On your profile on the LEMONAID health site, there is an open chat forum where you can ask questions whenever and someone will reply to you within a short period of time so you don't always have to call to speak with someone. This is always open to you and you don't have to wait for your next check-up to speak with a person. I've found that it's really helpful if I've had a question about when to take my meds and if possible to switch my script to something different (if needed).

I've been using LEMONAID health for 6 months now and I have absolutely loved it. The things I enjoy most are:

  • He lpful and friendly staff
  • 24/7 chat available
  • fast and discreet shipping to my door

Even if you have other medical needs, I highly recommend checking out LEMONAID. They have a wide variety of services and the best part is that if you don't have insurance or have really crappy insurance (like I did when I first started using their services) there is no worries because they don't take it. It costs the same for everyone no matter what service you are using.

For more information, click on the link below.

*I am not affiliated nor paid by LEMONAID health for this post. I am a paying customer reviewing their services.

product review
Like

About the Creator

L. M. Williams

I'm a self-published author that enjoys writing fantasy/supernatural/romance novels and occasionally dabble in poetry and realistic fiction. If not writing, I'm a freelance artist and a full time mom.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.