Psyche logo

Left and Your Other Left

Using strategies to manage your ADHD is okay

By Taucha PostPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 3 min read
1

I am a yoga instructor with ADHD. This occasionally results in a few "oopsie" moments in class when I forget which pose is supposed to come next in the flow, what number of rep we are on, or whether I should be cuing the left or right side. I got these tattoos the day before I moved out of Vancouver.

Their purpose was threefold:

1) To lovingly make light of the challenges I have with the “easy stuff”

2) To actually help me with my left and right

3) To serve as a reminder that strategies are OKAY

But people had surprisingly strong reactions about them. They said things like:

“Pfft...mmm’k”

“You know you can just hold your fingers in an L shape”

“Why don’t you just practice more? It’s not that hard.”

*eye roll*

Even the tattoo artist said, “Um, you know there are other ways to figure that out.”

THE TATTOO ARTIST!! A man, who I guarantee you, has put some weird-ass-shit on people’s bodies.

It got to the point where I’d get choked up if anyone asked me about my tattoos so I just started to hide them.

I realized that those comments hurt because they were the same comments people said about organization, time management, scheduling, prioritizing, starting, finishing etc. etc. etc.

BUT (and this is the important part) they didn’t hurt because they said them. The comments hurt because I BELIEVED them!

I put tattoos on my body to symbolize something I hadn’t actually made peace with yet 🤯🤯🤯🤯🤯

I can tell you now that I have processed my feelings about my need for strategies, and I don’t give A FUCK about what negative things people say about these tattoos now, because I don’t believe them.

What I know for sure is this:

-I use these tattoos ALL the time

-I use a bunch of other strategies all the time

-The strategies all make my life easier

ADHD strategies are like yoga props.

I know it can seem overwhelming and unfair that ADHDers have to do so much to function like “normal”.

Like:

-Using timers

-Setting reminders

-To-do lists and checklists

-Whiteboards/chalkboards

-Writing EVERYTHING down

-Wearing earplugs or wireless headphones

-Post-it notes everywhere

-Taking medications

-Taking supplements (when you remember)

-Creating daily structure

-Calendars or planners

-Managing your sleep

-Getting coaching

-Getting counselling

Etc etc....

Like I said, ADHD strategies are like yoga props.

Your ego initially resists them because you want to do things on your own. You may think that using props means you're weak or incapable—or worst of all—different. But when used properly, props actually help you get deeper into the pose. They help you reach your highest potential without injury to your body or your self-esteem.

Here’s the thing: the props don’t mean anything other than you are brave enough to accept yourself for who you are and you are willing to give yourself the support you need to succeed.

It’s the same for ADHD strategies.

I know it’s not easy, but as a yoga teacher and an ADHDer, I can tell you this: Use the damn props.😉😘

***

PS. My membership takes care of ADHDers' bodies, minds, hearts, and souls! Seriously. SERIOUSLY!

It includes:

-Yoga classes for all levels with time for questions after each class

-Mindfulness practices and pose tutorials in a HUGE recorded library

-Body doubles so you can work along side other ADHDers to help you do the hard/boring things

-Powerful live guided journaling practices

-Special events to help you set intentions and follow-through

-ADHD-friendly supports to prevent any shame surrounding consistency

-And membership to a non-judgmental, supportive, loving, and hilarious ADHD Slack community (Seriously, I love them SO MUCH!!!)

Follow me at @adhd.yoga and check out my online studio at adhdyoga.ca.

humanity
1

About the Creator

Taucha Post

ADHDer here! I'm a certified yoga teacher and ADHD coach-in-training. I empower ADHDers to take care of themselves through movement, breath, and the occasional f-bomb. Follow me at @adhd.yoga and check out my online studio at adhdyoga.ca.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insight

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.