Psyche logo

Journey of a Person with Disability

Sharing the Experience to Save Lives

By Matthew PrimousPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
Journey of a Person with Disability
Photo by Nathan Anderson on Unsplash

Non-profits that counsel such as EastHouse and non-profits that treat such as Rochester Rehab aiding clinics and hospitals in treating people with disabilities. This is what families, friends, and people with disabilities should be researching and searching for because life coaches can provide motivation and inspiration to overcome illnesses. Sudden fear overwhelms us all but it is a meditation on the positivity that bridges the gap to hope. We cannot be afraid to ask for help and get help on things that are important to us. We must let nothing stop us from reaching our goals because our goals define us and our lives.

Getting used to the medication because of the numerous side effects, they slowed down daily activities and prevent workload. This is the hardest thing to do in the journey for independence for people with disabilities. Suffering alone is not the answer, we must be confident in ourselves and others. We must learn to trust doctors, nurses, health professionals, and even secretaries with our struggle. Nothing is for sure and we must take every precaution there is to balancing and maintaining our homeostasis. Homeostasis is stability within our minds and bodies. We cannot learn to cope with things that are irregular and destroying us but we must fight with all our might to get the happiness we desire. Life is filled with turmoil but hope overcomes it all.

NAMI event showed me that I can be whatever I choose to be. I brought my father to the event and showed that I can still be responsible to family and friends even counselors. I can share my gift of writing to help someone get along their way. I can still have a passion even though I have a mental illness. As long as I took responsibility for helping myself and gaining knowledge to lead me to a long and fulfilling life. They gave me confidence in who I am and allowed me to express myself to my family and friends. They did not judge my poetic feelings and submission. They accepted what I was feeling, which was worried if I would have fulfilled life, and my family cheering along the process and encouraging me to be better and progress. The Pro programs gave me a responsibility to find myself and educate myself to live a healthy life. They taught me that you are never too old to learn and be educated. There is numerous help on the way for those with disabilities. My illness had written about it that an individual would not like trivia games, yet I kept answering correctly the hospital's jeopardy and college jeopardy games. My counselors became another family to me because they were walking me through the process and teaching me how to live again. They gently set me free from their responsibilities as I grow again.

Looking back, when I was relapsing my doctors and their team assured me that I know myself the best and that I was highly intelligent. At the time, I felt a part and falling apart. I only recognized my feelings and I did not understand fully what was happening to me but my health professionals believed that I saved my life by describing to them the horrible effects of my illness. They even allowed me to practice religious mediation encouraging me to think correctly. Looking back only fond memories erase the heinous dreams of the past and I feel accomplishment in getting back my life. This helped me to go to college and beyond. It inspired me to become like my doctors and health team to ensure a healthy life and long life.

The advice I would give to others, families, and friends: To choose organizations that will fight for you and care for your loved ones, in the beginning, my organizations knew how smart I was and recommended college. Choose organizations that believe in their ability and give them confidence and assurance as they travel their journey to a healthier life, guidance is key, and listening to your member with disabilities every need that is important to them. Be patient with the system, it will eventually get right and react calmly to advise and recommendations, your members with disabilities will react based on their families and friends so be open-minded and everything will be alright.

advice
Like

About the Creator

Matthew Primous

I am a Black Scholar, International Scholar, & Google Scholar, & 3-Time Eber & Wein Best Poet., Nominee for Poet of the Year, 2020 Black Author Matters Winner, 2 time Akademia Excellence Essayists,& 2022 Honorary Muckrack Journalist.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.