Psyche logo

It’s My Life

Autobiography, true story

By Casandra Butler Published 3 years ago 3 min read
Like

Well, well, where do I begin? Oh, Hi everyone. My name is Casandra, but everybody calls me Cassie. I am a single mother of 1, 9 year old boy. My life has never been easy. I can’t remember my childhood at all. When I turned 2, my father went to prison for 11 years. When he got out, my whole life flipped upside down. My father raped me around the ages of 13-15. I didn’t know any better, I thought that was what father daughter bonding, love and affection was. I willing allowed him to do so because he twisted my mind into thinking it was a normal ordeal for a father to have sex with his daughter. I started having problems at school, with my mother, and my siblings. My mother kept two jobs to provide for us. That left me to make sure they got home from school safely, make sure they ate after school and dinner also, make sure all homework was done, and ready for bed at a decent time. I had to grow up very fast and it prevented me from having a normal childhood. My bother and sister were allowed to go to birthday parties, sleep-overs, out with their friends to do normal kid things. I felt alone. I started to become a very rebellious person. Until one day, I found out I was pregnant at the age of 17. I was scared out of my mind. At the moment, I was sexually active with 3 people, my father included. I gave birth to my son and 1 of the 3 men I believed to be my son’s father agreed to taking a DNA test. It turned out he wasn’t the father, broke up with me, and I never heard from him ever again. The second man blocked me on all social media and wasn’t willing to take one at all. I was too scared to even tell my mother that my father has been raping me for years. So currently to this day, I have no idea who’s the father of my son. My conscience is constantly telling me my son is my brother also. When my son turned 6 years old, something in me just snapped. I was broken and nobody understood me because I wasn’t willing to allow anybody in to comfort me. I left my hometown for good. I gave temporary custody of my son to my mother. I hardly see my son at all, unless it’s on FaceTime. I am far from an unfit mother. I help him with homework over the phone, I send money whenever I can. I’m there for him just not physically, even though I know that’s what he needs. I moved two states away to start a new and better life for my son. That has been very hard to do. From me not having a childhood nor being a teen when I was a teenager, I got caught in the fast life of drugs, clubs/bars, sex, and etc. it became very hard for me to save money on my own. I felt a void that needed to be filled in my life. I starting dating, thinking if I can find someone to love me for me, then we can get a house and a car together. I felt like I was living in fantasy land. It finally clicked in my head that i needed to focus on me and my son and that’s exactly what I did. Now I have my own car in my name. I’m focusing on a home now, so I can be a better mother to my son. Things are a bit troubling for me, but all I can do is keep my head held high and keep pushing forward.

TO BE CONTINUED……

trauma
Like

About the Creator

Casandra Butler

just want to share stories with you guys that I’m passionate about.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.