Psyche logo

It Gets Better Pt2

Help Showed

By EmPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
I'm the girl in the back, lol

After having my boyfriend read the first part and explain to me that I focused too much on the bad, and not enough on the good side (and that the ending was so vague) I went back to review it and he was right. I told you guys it gets better but, I never explained how it got better, how I am now. I guess I expected you guys to read my other articles and piece it together. But here we go:

By March of senior year I've been dating my boyfriend for a month and a half by the time Senior Trip rolled around (if you want to see what that was like I'll like my friends YouTube video about it down below) I was happy, yes things were still hitting me but, with him it didn't feel like they were all getting to me. It felt like he was a wall and when something got through he was there in a split second to help me through it. He's my rock and I'm so grateful for him.

I was surrounded by love and support. My 12th grade English teacher always emailed me and talked to me in person to show me that he was there for me, especially since he was able to relate to what I was going through. He continuously told me to go to him if I ever needed to talk and he still does, he told me that I have so much in-store and I can't give up on myself now. He helped me put the final pieces together, helping me make a decision on what I want to do with my life.

When acceptance letters came around I was getting accepted to 98% of the colleges I applied to, even to some prestigious Universities, even my top choice: Wisconsin-Madison. My brother goes there and was telling me to apply and go there too, that way he could help me with the whole college life, and help me get my Pre-Med requisites out of the way. When my financial aid package arrived, I was only getting half of what I needed. I decided that even though it's my dream school, I had to go somewhere else. Of course I was angry, but that's life. Things don't always go your way. I ended up committing to SUNY Oswego, and honestly it's one of the best decisions I've made. Plus I'm only a 5 hour drive away from home.

At college, I've not only made wonderful friends and amazing memories but I've been able to push myself and show everyone what I'm made of. I'm finally showing the world that I'm not one to mess with and anything thrown my way, I will overcome.

When I found out who my roommate was I was nervous, I didn't know what she was like but in reality my roommate and I get along fantastically, she's there for me through everything. I've told her everything I've been through and she's told me what she's been through. I've always thought nobody could relate to me, but boy was I wrong. My roommate is someone who has gone through so much, someone who can relate to me in ways others can't. Honestly, I think my roommate is one of my best friends. I can tell her anything and everything. She even helped me get over my homesickness (Thank you Dee!).

As for my other friends here, they're amazing. We all have so much in common. Some of us love gaming, music, adventuring, etc. We're all different with different experiences and goals but we're there for each other 100%. We help each other through whatever we may be going through, and honestly I'm glad I came here and met them. At the beginning of the year I was thinking about transferring out and going back to the city and attending a CUNY but after I met them my mindset changed.

Now, I'm finding out who I am and who I want to be, and while I have a pretty good idea that can all change but I'm okay with that. I'm happy now, I love the way life is going for me now (so much so that I sometimes just smile for no reason), and I can't wait to see what's in-store. So guys, smile. Smile because you're alive, smile because everything is going to change, smile because it's going to be okay, it's going to get better. You may not see it now, but trust me it will. One day you'll have a beautiful family, you'll be successful, you'll be with the person you love, you'll be showing everyone what you're made of and that you overcame the odds.

Subscribe to them guys!

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Em

I'm doing my best.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.