Psyche logo

If You’re Thinking About Killing Yourself, Please Don’t

Anti-Suicide Letter

By I-Asia BrownPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

Hey Love,

Please don’t think of ending life, when life has just begun. If you can’t think of any reasons to live, I can give you some.

One day you’ll look up and the pain will be gone. If you die now, you won’t get a chance to see how much you’ll overcome.

You’ll meet the love of your life and forget about any of the times you’ve been mistreated. You’ll show everyone who’s hurt you that you are undefeated.

You’ll graduate school and prove how great you truly are. Right now you may feel down but one day, you’ll become a star… the star that you already are.

Scars - they heal, get sealed and you realize they’re no big deal. But you have to keep living in order for this to become real.

So let’s make a deal? Take a deep breath, release all stress, and relax. If you do what you’re thinking about doing, that’s something you can’t take back.

Instead, let’s talk and have lunch on me? It’ll be a jugdge free zone and you can be free- you can take a moment to not have to think about becoming and just be.

I’ll tell you about the time I had dark thoughts too, that became light. I wanted life to end too and I began losing sight. I lost sight of myself and all that I could be, but instead I was somehow led to become a better me.

If I did what I had thought about doing I wouldn’t have opened my eyes to the sun.

If I did what I had thought about doing, I wouldn’t of had a chance to have my son. To stare him in his eyes, hold him close to me, and to see all that I’ve won.

I wouldn’t of seen myself get up and keep growing larger than the sea. All that I’ve overcome has made me a better me… better than I could have ever dreamed to be. I wouldn’t have been able to look in the mirror and brush my teeth. I wouldn’t be able to feel warm water in the shower flow all the way down to my feet.

I wouldn’t be able to look at the clouds, the birds and the trees. My ancestors wouldn’t be able to look down and truly be proud of me.

I wouldn’t be able to go outside and feel the leaves. Hear them rattle against the ground or watch them fall beneath the trees.

The sand deserves to feel your toes again, the world to deserves to feel your love again.

I know that this feels like a hole that you’re in, but life has ups and downs and soon you’ll be on top again.

Everything happens for your greater good. What will one day strengthen you, right now is just misunderstood.

I know I’m getting to be a little bit sappy, I’m just here to let you know that one day soon you’ll be happy.

If you need new thoughts to think, think about the sun. Think about going to the park or going out for a run. Think about the beautiful views of a sunset and a sunrise. Think of all the fish in the sea or all of the birds in the sky.

And on the count of three, let’s take a deep breath. Let’s decide to live and to give it our best. Future you will be proud and I will be too. So proud of you for deciding, to become a better you. To not give up on happiness and to finally see, that life is meant for you and you are meant to be.

1 - 2 - 3.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.