Psyche logo

I Wore the Spire Stone At Work for A Week and It Actually Helped My Anxiety

The Spire Stone not only helped me recognize my tension, but showed me how to relieve it.

By Chelsea PullanoPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I don’t know how to relax. Have you ever had anyone go to give you a neck rub or a massage and had them tell you to relax your muscles before they get started? I literally don’t know how to do that. Needless to say, I’ve been on the market for some sort of stress relief device or app for some time now.

I was intrigued by the Spire Stone from the moment I saw it. It’s both a stress relief device and app—something of a FitBit for stress, if you will. I was a bit skeptical about the price, so I watched and waited and read every review I could. It seemed that it was everything I had dreamed it would be, so I decided to take the leap and try it myself. Does it work? Short answer: yes. Long answer: keep reading!

How It Helps

So the Spire Stone tells you when you're stressed out and when you aren't. But how does it help when you are stressed out? First and foremost, when you have a tense streak you're prompted to do a breathing exercise to calm yourself. A series of bubbles show up on your screen, and they turn green as you slow your breathing. You continue watching the bubbles and focusing on your breathing until they're all green. This exercise is also available at any time in the bottom right hand corner of your Spire Stone app.

I found this exercise incredibly effective. Not only did it almost always return my Spire Stone reading to Calm (if it didn't it at least returned it to neutral), but I often found myself wanting to do this exercise if I was tense but before I got the notification that it had become a "Tense Streak." It effectively removes you from your stressor mentally, and refocuses you towards your breathing and the moment.

The Final Conclusion?

Overall, I can't say I'm a calmer person than I was before I started wearing the Spire Stone. But let me explain that statement. I do not have any less tense moments or any more calm moments because I'm wearing it. I'm an anxious person, and that hasn't changed. And I still don't know how to consciously relax my shoulders. However, when I do get tense, I now have a tool at my disposal to bring me back to my baseline.

Hopefully in time I will become more self aware and I can learn to be proactive about what causes my anxiety. However, in the meantime, I have a series of exercises to combat it that I didn't have at my disposal before. The Spire Stone alerts me when I've been tense for 2 minutes, which is far quicker than I would often notice while going about my day. Between that and being able to open the app and look at my gray-turning-green dots, my work day and my daily life have gotten a whole lot calmer.

The Spire Stone is worth every penny, allowing you to restore focus at work, resolve tension at home, and overall live a calmer life. Oftentimes, it allows you to head off tension before you even know it's happening. Learn more about your mental and physical health and use Spire Stone's exercises to relieve stress as quickly as it comes.

product review
Like

About the Creator

Chelsea Pullano

CFO @ Creatd (Nasdaq:CRTD)

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.