Psyche logo

I Saved a Mans’s Life

Early fall I went to check out our local beach to see a man dying.

By Kerrie G.DiazPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like

local lake in Wisconsin

This happened about 20 years ago now. A friend and I were bored and had nothing to do. We decided to go out to our local beach. Normally it is so crowded in the summer that you are lucky if you can find a place to sit down or even go in the water it is overcrowded.

One car was parked further away from the beach. He was sitting in his car. We go about our business not disturbing the person. Walk down by the beach and look at the water and how beautiful it was even in the fall.

We walk around and look at the area around the lake just walking for something to do. We walked around that car just to walk around as I had said. There is a road in front of where the car was parked.

The local beach where a man tried to take his life

One thing we did not see when we pulled in past this car was all the red liquid that had flowed from the driver’s side door and leaked down the parking lot into the grass by the car. It was blood. By this point, we were on the other side of the parking lot away from this car. We did not know if they had a gun or knife, so we thought, the best thing would be to stay at a safe distance.

I kind of yelled over to the man in the car asking if he was ok and if he needed some help. All the man in the car did was shoo us away with a hand motion. I figured it was time to call the police. I at this point did not know how much blood he had already lost, it had looked like a lot from the side of his door.

The police came and he did fight with them because he was in a very bad spot mentally. I was happy that I could save this man’s life even if he did not want it. I hope one day he can break from that depression and see that he has a lot to live for.

When I was out driving around with friends the next day I noticed what looked like the car ahead of us at the stop light. We were going the same way as the car for a while so it was hard to tell for sure if it was the car. When the car took a left turn in front of us we could see the driver's side door. It was the same car because it was still all full of his blood down the side of the door. He had not even bothered to wash it off. I was happy that he was still alive, but I was concerned about how long. If they could leave that on the side door like that and drive around like that. I don't think their mind was in a better mental state yet. Most people that have good mental health would not leave something like that on the side of their car. Think they would realize what a mistake it was and want nothing around to have them remember when they were feeling so low. At least if it were me, this is how I would be feeling and looking at the situation. I just pray that their mental health gets better before it is too late and no one is around to help again.

When you can save someone’s life, it makes you feel good inside knowing you did something good, especially when you are used to not doing good.

©Kerrie Gutierrez-Diaz 2022

support
Like

About the Creator

Kerrie G.Diaz

The goal of my writing is to put a smile, help, or scare them. I love all kinds of topics Horror and paranormal are my favorite but really into true crime. If you like what you read please tip me with a coffee https://ko-fi.com/kerrie

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.