Psyche logo

I Knew A Girl Once

She was Naive... was...

By Jaqueline GrenierPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 6 min read
Like
I Knew A Girl Once
Photo by Nikhil kumar on Unsplash

I knew a girl once. She was nice. Really nice. Perhaps a little too nice. Let me tell you a tale about her.

She would do anything for anybody. She would ask for nothing in return. Expected nothing in return.

One day, while on her way to see her family, she came across an elderly woman. She was sitting in front of a retirement complex. She gave a kind smile to the old lady sitting on the bench. She stopped and said, "Isn't it beautiful today? The sun is smiling, the birds are singing. And the leaves are dancing upon the breeze. Don't you think?"

The elderly woman smiled a gummy smile.

"Yes, it is beautiful. But do you know what's more gorgeous than the sunniest day? The most colourful rainbow? Even the view of the ocean?"

The young woman was confused. What could be more beautiful than all that, she wondered.

"Um, what is it ma'am?" She asked, now curious.

The old woman looked up at the sky as the clouds passed by, the gummy smile seemed to be fixed on her face.

"I know you will learn eventually, but you deserve to know now. Have a seat, Sweetheart."

The young woman was puzzled, but she wasn't necessarily in a hurry. So she did as she was told and took a seat beside the elder.

"When I was your age and don't worry, this won't be long. I was a nice and respected young woman. I had responsibilities, taking care if everyone and everything. I had a good heart. But then I noticed something... odd..."

The young woman tilted her head slightly. Huh?..

"Even though I did my very best, I noticed that whenever I needed something, nobody was there for me. When I asked why they couldn't help me... they wouldn't say. They just simply said no."

The girl frowned. That was sad...

"What are you saying?"

The old woman looked the young woman, eyes full of what looked like regret.

"They used me. They were only friends with me because I can't say no. I figured this out the hard way. When I started saying no, I noticed that I was starting to lose friends."

The young woman heart plummeted into her stomach.

'no...'

"But overall, I'm happy I started to say no because I began to know who my real friends and family were."

The young woman's heart churned. How does this describe the most beautiful thing in the world? How is losing friends a good thing? How CAN she say no if people need her all the time? Why? How?.....

"Um, if losing friends is a good thing, then how will you gain new ones? How do you know who is real or who is fake?"

The elder woman eyes looked they were glassy, like she was about to cry.

"Whoever chooses to stay by your side. But Sweetheart. You will know when the time comes. But do you know what the most things in this world are?"

The young woman wasn't so sure anymore. But it will bother her if she doesn't know. But will it be good to know? Will benefit her future?

She decided yes. It will.

"What is it?"

The elderly woman smiled knowingly. And simply said, "The kindest, most beautiful souls on the world. And you my dear, have one. What does that make you?"

The young was confused... Huh?

"Beautiful?"

"Yes. Inside. And out." The old woman smiled happily with her gummy smile. The young was still puzzled. She wasn't so sure about that. But it was time for her to go, isn't?she looked at her watch and realized she was here longer than anticipated.

" Oh my, I must go. I'm sorry. Goodbye."

She quickly gathered herself up turned and continued on her way, stopping only to turn to the the old woman.

She gathered herself up and started on her way, only stopping to turn around to find that the woman.... is gone.

"uh..... Wha? But she-she was just right here." She looked around for a moment and observed the area. The complex was a long walk away, especially for an old woman her age. She shook her head, believing she may have finally lost it and continued on her way.

'I wonder why that happened? It was really confusing.'

Suddenly her phone began to ring. She reached into her purse and and looked at the number. It was her friend again. The one that's always asking for favours. She then wondered if it were a good idea to answer it.

She decided it was, but mostly because she was curious as to what the problem was.

She pressed the answer key and held it up to her ear.

"Hello?" She said.

"Hey, um.. I was wondering if I could have a favour?", her friend asked.

She wasn't so sure anymore. So. She decided to test this one.....this one... Time. This one time she will say no....

"Um... What is it?" She asked. Doesn't hurt to be subtle, right? Right?

"I was wondering if you could lend me $150 dollars?"

She frowned...... Her friend still owed her from so many times before, even from bailing her out of the Drunk Tank.

"Um... Why?" There was silence on the other line. She wasn't going to have the reason, will she?

"Why? What do you mean 'Why'? You would normally help me out no questions asked. What happened to the Good-Old-You?"

"Well, its just...uh.." How is she going to put this?

"It's just what?" She heard from the other line. It sounded like she was trying to get hostile.

".. You never did pay me back.... From the other times.... " she said, slowly. How? How can people live with themselves by saying things like that?

Guilt started to rise in her chest. What a terrible feeling.........

"Are you kidding?! Come on!! I need that money!" Her friend started to yell, seeming to be getting angry that she wasn't getting what she 'needed'. The young woman heart tore at her chest.. She couldn't do it. Maybe she should-

"You know what? I don't need you anymore you are going to be greedy. Fuck you and your Masters Degree!!!"

And then... There was silence on the other end...she felt her heart shatter into what feels like a million pieces.

How? Why? Why did it have to happen like that? She was so mean because she said no.

She dropped her phone and fell to her knees, scraping them in the process.

"... No.... I just wanted to know why she needed the money.. I just wanted to know." Silent tears rolled down her now pale cheeks.

"How how can anybody do such a thing? How? Why? She needed my help and... And.."

"That's why I wanted you to know."

Huh? There was a voice coming from...where exactly? She looked around, confused she didn't know where the voice was coming from... but it sounded oddly familiar.

"Know what?"

The voice of the old woman, she realized, came through again.

"You can't help everyone... Sometimes saying no is okay. It shows who your real friends are".

The young was puzzled. Was that old woman....

"Nah, couldn't be an angel. They don't exist. I don't think so, anyway."

The young woman gathered herself up again and continued on her way. She may not hear from her friend again, but at least she knows who she realm was.

A fake friend.

Limit how many times you say yes. It's okay.

humanity
Like

About the Creator

Jaqueline Grenier

I always felt like there were colours all around my head, I needed a way to put them down into paper. Brain going 1000 mi per second, I can put down my thoughts with ease. With several books on the horizon, my future seems bright again.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.