Psyche logo

I Am an "Easy Target" For The "Beasts"!

Are you?

By Oberon Von PhillipsdorfPublished 2 years ago 4 min read
Like
I Am an "Easy Target" For The "Beasts"!
Photo by Tudor Baciu on Unsplash

I am a writer, therefore I am a highly sensitive person.

I can absorb the emotions of others whether I want it or not. I am very well attuned to other people’s moods, both the good and the bad. Before I learned to protect myself from the bad energies, I could get sick from being exposed to other people’s negative vibes.

For example, certain people just reek of negative energy. After spending some time in their company, I usually felt drained for the next day.

Sometimes being able to “absorb” energies can be a good thing, especially when I am surrounded by truly loving and caring individuals. But sometimes, this trait of mine can be detrimental — especially when encountering “beasts”.

Have you heard of energy vampires? Well, beasts are worse.

Beast is an ego-manic, manipulative, often miserable, drama queen, and sometimes even downright psychopathic person. Beasts “feed on” and manipulate those who are sensitive, compassionate, and “always-see-the-good-in-people”.

Upon encountering “beasts” in my professional and private life, I have finally learned how to shield myself away from them by using three simple tricks.

1. Don’t let them “Meow”...

Hiding from negative people is always a good option, but there is a better solution: stop the perpetrator.

Negative people love to moan and whine a lot. When you hear them starting a completely useless discussion that contains a lot of negative information — interrupt their monologue.

It may seem rude, but it’s necessary for your own survival. I have trained myself to be okay with interrupting a conversation, which is negative. I am just bluntly honest: “I don’t want to hear it. Thank you.”

I’ve learned to maintain my emotional distance. This doesn’t mean that I am ignoring them, I am ignoring bits and pieces that they are trying to share but have no value to me and are negative.

Don’t convince them to stop being gloomy, or suggest “look on the bright side” — it is not your place to save them, your job is to protect yourself.

If you do for others things that they should do for themselves, you’re not helping but enabling. Sometimes we can create ourselves problems by trying to fix other people.

Beast is locked into a negative mindset that is part of the fabric of their personality. You can’t change them, you can only change your way how you react to them.

2. Don’t “hiss” back!

Sometimes it’s just frustrating to deal with a negative person. What if their comments are offensive and you are tempted to “answer back”? Don’t. Showing that what has been said has affected you in any way will feed the beast even more.

Stay clear of impulsive reactions and learn to respond thoughtfully in the face of negative energy. Eventually, they will realize you won’t give them the reaction they seek, and they will go looking for another victim. Tempering your emotional responses can be difficult, but it is key to maintaining your peace and sanity.

3. Practise everyday self-care.

I need time to clear my head after dealing with the beast. When I am frustrated or annoyed with them, I always take some time to collect my thoughts.

Never speak to the beast when you are vulnerable, rather talk to them when you feel confident and calm. Always give yourself time to recharge your batteries so when you deal with them, you have the patience to handle them properly.

If you can, limit your exposure to the person. When you must hang out with them, try to do so in group settings. And if you are one of the luckier, just get the hell away from the beast — put an ocean between you two.

You must put your well-being first. It is not selfish to love yourself and to make your happiness a priority. Practising self-care will help keep you grounded and strong when you face negative energy.

You feel drained because you allowed someone to take all that happy energy from you. When it comes to setting boundaries, want to do so. Not because you know you should, but because you realize it is the only way to stay happy.

Thank you for your support and reading!

This article was originally published here.

selfcare
Like

About the Creator

Oberon Von Phillipsdorf

Writer, Geek, Marketing Professional, Role Model and just ultra-cool babe. I'm fearless. I'm a writer. I don't quit. I use my imagination to create inspiring stories.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.