Psyche logo

Hurricane Horizon

Recovery At Sea

By Leah C HodgesPublished 3 years ago 3 min read
Like
https://www.google.com/url?sa=i&url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.semesteratsea.org%2F&psig=AOvVaw25wwfIC9k4gblPCXuvhZuC&ust=1619321420164000&source=images&cd=vfe&ved=0CAMQjB1qFwoTCMDBzsj4lfACFQAAAAAdAAAAABAD

Good morning, I begin to say as sweet and quietly as possible to my daughter Constance. She was just waking up from being in a coma for seven months due to her ivy drug usage and being abused physically and mentally by her past relations with men.

I don’t understand where I went wrong with Constance besides using while I was pregnant, she almost died as a child. Constance was not able to speak at all. I felt like something took over her when she started becoming a young woman. She just wanted to be accepted and loved all the time. She was kind to everyone and always smiled.

Constance’s 18th birthday was when I realized I should have never allowed here to leave home with any man I didn’t like. She left with this younger man, he was a straight A student and had a part time position at a clothing shop. When my daughter never came home after the dance that night, I worried sick. I went driving to search and found her almost half dead and beaten deaf on the side of interstate. She had overdosed, was raped and beaten by the boy I thought was perfect. She was admitted to ICU for months now in a coma barely alive due to my misjudgment of others, due to my history with drugs and not being always a sober mother.

Constance, please open your eyes, I am here to pray for you. She opens her eyes finally with fear and tears, still no words. She screams and continues to cry. I sat in the chair next to her at the hospital for hours till I finally dozed off to sleep. A deep sleep with nightmares and just dreaming. Suddenly I envision.

All aboard!!!!!It’s finally time for the "Hurricane Horizon” to set sail for the first time across the Mediteranea sea. This ship is very large and able to hold over 4,000 individuals. My name is Perfectionist States head major and correctional officer aboard the ship.

“Hurricane Horizon” is built to transport to and from across the sea and is known to be the best rehabilitation center at sea. It also accepts and hold inmates that are being incarcerated in the United States that are drug users/addicts and or traffickers that need mental health.

Depending on the inmate's charges and behavioral outbursts will decide upon lockdown on the bottom floor and psych meds will be given plus monitored. This situation will also take the individual longer to grow in recovery and might result in deportation due to the high demands their prison expects for them to achieve.

We are at million miles at sea and drugs are not permitted on board. There is only two ways off the ship, boardwalk and or suicide.

All individuals on board are here for change regardless and are mandatory to attend any educational and rehabilitation courses daily. We have special instructors who study and specialize in Addictions. Also remember there are some women being deported back to their country. There are children as well.

Some females were being trafficked and abused sexually and physically but as a part of their probation and if successfully completed upon being aboard of Hurricane Horizon they will be granted citizenship to reside in United States and granted financial reward.

Mom, Mom wake up, why are you acting like your deaf. I’ve been trying to wake up sense yesterday, are you okay. Did you use last night or drink?

I’m suddenly confused and uncertain of anything and then finally woke up. I’m in the hospital bed and screaming for my daughter. My husband responds that I’m not a mother as of today nor have I had any children my whole life.

Immediately I lost memory and begging god to save my life, drugs had control over everything. Amen

family
Like

About the Creator

Leah C Hodges

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.