Psyche logo

How to Ease Ascension Symptoms and Work the Steps

The Ascension Process as a Recovering Addict

By Lady RedPublished 6 years ago 4 min read
Like
The great awakening is upon us.

There is a great awakening occurring right now, at this very moment. Many souls are choosing this point in time to awaken from their slumber and become present and active in the 3D world to prepare for the ascension to the 5D. Many of us are addicts living in recovery and on our own, special spiritual path of the steps. What does this mean for us? What does the ascension process mean for us? While the future points along this path hold great promise, the steps along the way are not always the easiest, especially for the recovering addict. However, with the daily practice of the 12 steps we can achieve a bit of a head start and ease the ascension process.

Letting go, turn it over and forgive.

These are the principles by which we have found relief and will lead us into the 5D consciousness.

Throughout the ascension process we are called upon to do several tasks that for many, seem completely unreasonable. We are told we must let go of relationships and situations, circumstances that no longer serve our higher purpose. The universe will step in and do this for you through the loss of a job, a home, and friendships will become tedious. During this time, our guides, mentors, and teachers will tell us we must have faith and trust that the universe will guide us to the best possible places and people. These are also the principles of the first three steps. For those of us that are working through our steps as part of our program this has already been done on some level. We have already distanced ourselves from toxic relationships and people, turned our will and our care to our higher power. During the ascension process we are guided to address our past hurts, the harm we have done to ourselves and others, and practice forgiveness. Are these not the basic practices of steps four through nine? We, as addicts living in recovery, must complete the process of these steps in order to move on from the habits of self-harm in order to recover from active addiction and the desire to seek outside relief from our pain.

The Ascension Process During Recovery

The practices we develop through working the steps will aid us during our ascension.

The early days of the ascension are perhaps the most turbulent days of our existence. We may feel like we are losing everything and gaining nothing. We may find ourselves without work, home or friends to call upon. For the addict, these events may be less painful as we have already learned to let go and turn it over to the care of our higher power. The physical aches and pains of the ascension are eased for us as we have already begun the process of healing our deep soulful wounds through the release of resentments and practice of forgiveness. During my journey, I was in the twelfth year of relapse to active addiction when I had my awakening. I did feel like I was losing everything and gaining nothing. Then I found myself in the rooms of recovery and began practicing my steps. It was during my fourth step that I realized the similarities between the principles and practices of the narcotics anonymous program and the ascension process.

Spirituality in NA

We are spiritual beings having a human experience.

My resentment list was comparatively shorter this time than the last one I made thirteen years ago. I had already let go and forgiven many people for the harm they had committed against me, including my abuser and myself. I practice the act of letting go as I encounter situations I recognize as out of my control. Since my return to the rooms of recovery, my ascension process has become much gentler as I no longer resist the changes and welcome the challenges. I have learned to become grateful for the many blessings I am granted and in this have found much relief from worry. By learning to love myself, I have successfully removed the need to seek relief from self-hatred through the use of drugs. I use the principles of the NA program to not only find recovery from the torment of active addiction but have these practices as valuable in the ascension process. I now carry my message to others who may be newly awakened recovering addicts, struggling through dark nights of the soul and the tough challenges presented to us during our ascension process.

recovery
Like

About the Creator

Lady Red

I am Lady Red, as a Tarot practitioner and YouTuber. I have heard so many crazy stories about life, love and the pursuit of happiness. I'm here to share my experiences with you, guide you and entertain you!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.