Psyche logo

How to be happy while fighting with depression.

Dealing with your emotions.

By Destiny WooldridgePublished 4 years ago 3 min read
Like
How to be happy while fighting with depression.
Photo by Sydney Sims on Unsplash

Being happy when you have depression is definitely not the easiest thing in the world. For instance yesterday I was happy all day. My husband and I rearranged our room together yesterday. That doesn’t sound fun at all and honestly rearranging a bedroom is not fun at all. Normally rearranging a room is stressful, but I was happy and having fun and we kept picking on each other and laughing. Today I feel like being happy takes work and that if one little thing goes wrong then my entire day is just ruined.

Somedays to be happy you just need a change. Whether that is getting out of the house or dying your hair or maybe going through and deep cleaning your house. I like to dye my hair when I feel like I need a change, but what helps the most with my moods is going through and deep cleaning the house. Throwing away anything that you haven’t touched in a few months. Gathering things up to take to GoodWill. By the time you have gone through the entire house, you end up with a feeling of accomplishment. Feeling accomplished always makes me feel great like I actually did something productive.

I also noticed with myself, if I go a few days without taking time out to exercise and do yoga I always feel down and depressed. I typically do yoga for thirty minutes a night and walk on my treadmill for forty-five minutes a night. I feel better physically and mentally and look better physically. Exercise has been proven to improve your mood. Exercise releases chemicals and makes you feel better. Truth is unless you take time out for self-care you will just feel depressed. Even if you are on antidepressants like I am. You can’t just stick with the same self-care routine either. You have to mix it up. I will take a break two nights a week from exercising and instead I will read a book with earbuds in, just block out the world and everything wrong in it. Or I will open up my journal and write everything down. Just let all of my feelings out the old fashion way, by writing those feelings down not typing them. Either that or you could kill everything for the night and take some sleeping meds a little early and get a little extra sleep every now and then. Wake up the next morning feeling completely refreshed. You could even call up a friend and have a girls night or guys night out. Dress up and make yourself feel cute in your own eyes.

Sometimes you also just have to let yourself be depressed. Just go on a walk by yourself or take a relaxing bubble bath. Give yourself time to think. Sometimes you just have to let yourself drown in tears and scream it out. You also cannot let this become your everyday life. You have to find a way to pick yourself up and keep going. If you don’t then you just get lost in a sea of sorrow. Once you let that happen your life just turns black and you feel like you have nothing to live for. Coming back from that kind of depression tends to feel impossible at times, but you also should know that you are not alone. No matter how cheesy it sounds what I am saying is true. You are not alone. If you were then I would not be able to write this article right now. If You feel as if you need someone to talk to, you are more than welcome to come to talk to me through my social media, links are in my bio. You can also go to a friend or family member or maybe go get some professional help.

depression
Like

About the Creator

Destiny Wooldridge

Currently a stay at home mom who is also going to start school in January 2021 to get my RN license. I am also learning how to love myself that way I can be a better fiance and mother.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.