Psyche logo

How I've Coped

Depression and Anxiety.

By C.J.BPublished 5 years ago 4 min read
Like
Image: https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/microcosmpublishing/coping-skills-tools-and-techniques-for-stressful-t

First of all, I would like to make it clear that "how I've coped" is not really all that accurate to address this topic. When it comes to mental health, I personally think that it is an ongoing "coping" situation. I guess the best way to describe this that I could think of would be that there are never-ending 'milestones.' There are milestones that I have reached and there are milestones that I still must reach and look forward to. Like physical health, our mental health is something that we need to take care of constantly.

During my struggles, the first step or I guess milestone that I achieved was admitting to myself that what was happening to me was something that I needed help with.

Personally, I found this difficult because for me, it felt like I was admitting defeat to my weakness. And more importantly, I was worried that people would think of me either as a crazy person or as someone fragile. I was very paranoid of what others would say if I did not appear to be what is considered 'normal.' So yes, when I realized that it's time for me to admit that I need help for myself, I took the next step: opening up to someone.

I found this to be the next milestone and a harder one at that. How do you even start the conversation? I was scared that if I told another person, they would just think that I was being the way that I was to get attention. But I was wrong. The first people that I told about my situation were my best friend and my sister.

When I told my best friend about me, I was able to open up to someone who sees me every day. Someone who sees how I am outside and was surprised to know what was happening inside. It was relieving to tell someone that I was friends with. She had respected my choice of telling her and did not share the information with anyone else. I may have been lucky with this one, and it was a very helpful step to take.

Next was my sister. I told her the extent of how I felt and things that I've thought of and done in order to make myself feel better or distract myself from what was happening. I didn't really have any expectations of how she would react, but she reacted way better than I could have asked for. She offered me her access to a therapist through work and eventually I took it, and this was the third milestone.

Seeing a therapist as a teenager isn't really something that you share with most people, or with anyone really. I saw a therapist that was located nowhere near my home or my school just so I would have the comfort of not running into anyone I knew.

On my first session, I remember coming 30 minutes early and just walking back and forth around the clinic. I was contemplating if I should proceed or not, I was doubting that it would help me and I was wondering if seeing a therapist meant I was close into being considered 'crazy.' Eventually, two minutes before my session, I was able to gather to courage that I needed and went in.

It was nothing like I had expected, not that I had so many expectations, but it was extremely helpful. It was just literally two people sitting across each other talking. I probably couldn’t start saying anything properly for about ten minutes or so but when I finally was able to start, I didn't stop. I cried, made jokes and felt a huge relief letting everything out.

Honestly, I only saw my therapist a few times, maybe less than ten sessions, but it was helpful. It may not work for anyone, but I think if you opened up and I mean really opened up about how you felt, it would help you maybe as much as it helped me, maybe more or less but it will help.

When I stopped seeing my therapist, I took her advice and started a diary. It's great, and up to this day, I still have a diary. It's good to have an outlet of your feelings. I can write my honest thoughts and feelings and just be able to let all of it out.

It would be good to say that after these milestones I didn't take a step back and I am now 100% okay, but I'm not going to lie. There were times where I took a few steps back, but the good thing is, now, I don't really go back to the very beginning from where I was.

I still have my struggles, my 'bad days,' but now, I am more capable of making myself feel better in a more healthy and positive way.

I hope that this experience that I've shared helps you. And most of all, always try to enjoy the little things.

coping
Like

About the Creator

C.J.B

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.