Psyche logo

How I Cope with OCD While Recovering from Addiction

Addicts and alcoholics often suffer from co-occurring disorders, one of the many being Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder. This is how I cope with the symptoms of OCD and protect my sobriety at the same time.

By Maya KelleyPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

I was not diagnosed with Obsessive-Compulsive disorder until I began therapy during treatment for my drug addiction. After careful observation and consideration, my therapist came to the conclusion that I most likely have been suffering from OCD for the better part of my life. As a result, I was most likely attempting to self-medicate the symptoms of my OCD with substances, eventually leading to my drug addiction. It is not uncommon for addicts to have co-occurring disorders that helped fuel their drug or alcohol addictions, and because of this, I am extremely passionate about spreading awareness pertaining to mental health and addiction.

What is Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder?

OCD is one of the many forms of anxiety disorders. People with OCD suffer from repetitive thought patterns combined with ritualistic behavior that they use in an attempt to calm their anxieties and fears. According to an article on OCD and substance abuse, approximately one quarter of people who suffer from OCD also suffer from a substance abuse disorder.

Possible symptoms of OCD:

  • Unwanted, racing or reoccurring thoughts
  • Aggressive thinking about yourself or others
  • Inability to control thoughts or behaviors
  • Repeatedly checking things such as locks, appliances, etc.
  • Counting compulsively or rearranging objects in a specific way
  • Experiencing relief when a ritual is completed
  • Fear of contamination or germs
  • Excessive cleaning or handwashing
  • Problems due to OCD interfering with work, school, or relationships

People suffering from OCD usually do not realize that these behaviors are abnormal until they begin to affect their daily life and get in the way of any responsibilities. It is common for people to try and use drugs or alcohol to cope with their symptoms of OCD, which typically only worsens the symptoms overtime. Treatment is possible for OCD and substance abuse and can greatly improve quality of life.

How I Cope with OCD while Staying Sober

Getting sober is a huge milestone in and of itself and has posed many hurdles that I have had to learn to overcome. Having a co-occurring disorder like OCD can make the intensity of my drug cravings worsen, but going through CBT therapy has helped me tremendously.

Therapy

CBT is a type of therapy that is generally used in the treatment of varying mental health disorders such as: eating disorders, Obsessive-compulsive disorder, Bipolar disorder, and many more. CBT focuses on learning more about the illness that you suffer from and learning/practicing techniques that will aid you to cope, relax, be assertive when needed, and allow you to develop the resilience that you need when recovering from an illness.

Medication

While going to therapy, I also was put on medication that has begun to work wonders in regards to dealing with my obsessive thought patterns and compulsive behaviors. I mention this because there is still a stigma surrounding using psych medication; this stigma may prevent others from getting the help they need in fear of being viewed as weak or "crazy." I am here to tell you that there is absolutely nothing weak about standing up and admitting you need help. In fact, it takes a strong person to realize they need to look inwards and correct any issues. That being said, medication is not required in order to recover. Many people find that therapy alone is enough to allow them to cope with their OCD.

Support

Since I am in recovery from drug addiction, I have acquired an extremely great fellowship of men and women who can provide me with genuine friendship and emotional support when I need it. Anytime that I may feel my symptoms of OCD creeping up, I can utilize my sober support to help talk me through my issues which has allowed me to avoid a relapse.

Recovery is Possible

When dealing with a mental illness or a substance abuse disorder, people tend to feel hopeless or alone. Since both issues have become increasingly common, that means the amount of people who have recovered have increased as well. You can find help if you look for it.

If you are suffering from mental illness or substance abuse, you can call the Substance Abuse and Mental Heath Services national hotline at any time:

1-800-662-HELP (4357)

coping
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.