Psyche logo

How I Beat Depression

And My Best Advice for Others

By J. P. FrattiniPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like

Depression is clinically described as:

"Persistently low, depressed mood, consistent for at least two weeks."

But for over 300 million people worldwide, depression can last for years, or even one's entire life. Thankfully, our understanding of psychology and medical practices has grown to the point where we have some effective treatments for the condition, but many of us still have to deal with it every day.

I was diagnosed with clinical depression when I was fifteen after showing symptoms for over two years. All of the tests showed that my symptoms leaned towards the more severe end of the condition, and I was brought to regularly see a therapist and psychiatrist almost immediately. And considering I had a family history of the condition (along with others), there were a lot of precautions being taken.

So for about three or so years, I regularly saw a therapist and a psychiatrist, as well as taking Zoloft every day. My mood, however, didn't stabilize or improve very much. My last two years of high school were especially difficult, and trying to work at the same time didn't help my condition. I ballooned to an unhealthy weight and continuously felt worse. My mood improved slightly when I graduated, but then college began and I had no motivation. I ran out of medication, and my school wasn't filling my prescription. So after one semester in university, I dropped out and moved back home.

Now, I'm not trying to make anyone feel sorry for me. But this is where the story begins to take a turn...

My mother got me in to see a psychiatrist on Valentine's Day, about a month and a half after I left school. I had been staying at home and doing nothing but wallow in my self-hatred. I managed to get a new prescription for a different drug, this time Lithium Carbonate.

Within four weeks, I felt my mood beginning to improve. I registered for classes at a tech school to get a certification, and I found myself applying for jobs. I started exercising and watching what I ate, and then I began doing research. I found that a leading cause of depression in the United States has been traced to a Vitamin D deficiency, so I made it a point to go outside for at least fifteen minutes a day.

Believe it or not, that fifteen minutes a day brought my mood up even more. By that May, my weight had gone from about 240 pounds (I'm a guy who's about 5'10"), to around a solid 200. I have a certification in a trade, and a job.

There's a long debate about whether or not nature or medications work best for depression. In my experience, the best treatment for depression is both. And if you find yourself getting a lot better, try going off the meds and see if you can function. Sadly, I don't have that option now since my condition is genetic, but it's still a goal I'd like to hit.

But even though I feel great more often than not, depression doesn't just vanish. I still have my bad days. Days where I don't want to get up in the morning, where I just end up wanting to lay down and stare at my ceiling, and I'll probably always have to deal with that. But, the healthier the habits you get into, the easier it is to bring yourself out of the rut and at least go for a walk to get the blood flowing.

I hope this has given those with depression a little bit of hope in that your symptoms don't have to run your life. Just don't stop trying, and things will get better.

depression
Like

About the Creator

J. P. Frattini

Culture, music, politics, art. It's all fair game to me

Follow Me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/thejpfrattini

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.