Psyche logo

How Does It Feel To Be Truly Isolated?

And how I learned from it

By Carlos VelascoPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Photo by Janiere Fernandez from Pexels

For the last couple of days, I experienced what true isolation felt like. And the most challenging part is that it wasn’t my choice to do so.

Last week I was diagnosed with COVID-19 and I won’t get into the part on what I had to do because I assume all of us know what comes next after you see the most terrifying word in your COVID result paper: “positive”.

And before getting into the part of being in complete lockdown in my room, I will go back a few days prior to give you some context.

A day before I got the confirmation I was “COVID-friendly”, my family and I were moving out to a different house. Very exciting news. However, the internet guy, who was supposed to install the modem that exact same day, never showed up.

And that was day, after day, after day.

So what does that mean?

Well, I got to be completely by myself in my room and without internet to connect with my friends, distract myself with movies/series, share my thoughts online, etc.

In the beginning, the thought of that being such an inconvenience didn’t cross my mind at all. I just said: “Oh no. That’s a bummer. But oh well, I’m sure it will come tomorrow”.

But like I said before, the internet guy didn’t arrive for DAYS.

The first day was very normal for me. Since I am the hugest nerd in the world, I got to spend time building Legos and decorating my room fashionably. So I was having the time of my life and I didn’t think a second about my online responsibilities.

The days passed by and the routine got extra heavy very quickly. I couldn’t stand to think that my friends were worried about me and I didn’t have a chance to say that I was doing fine, nothing too major, but fine.

“Last thing I told them is that I was feeling very ill and I was going to check if what I had was COVID or not”.

That thought was overwhelming my mind the last couple of days. I began to feel a bit anxious about the lack of updated information my friends had about me. And telling your mind to ease down and think clearly is challenging when you are sick of a virus that has the whole world in a pandemic.

Fortunately, and thanks to some meditation practices that I have been taking for months, I could relax myself and just let things flow in the natural course.

“This situation is out of my control. I can’t do anything to change it. I shall let it go then. It will be when it needs to be”.

That mindset cooled down my thoughts and put me in a more conscious state.

“I am fine. My friends are fine. I’m learning from this experience more than I had imagined”.

A few hours passed by. The sky was starting to fade out into a darker color. Then, I hear my dog starts to bark constantly. For dog owners, that can only mean one thing. Someone is outside.

Turns out that was the internet guy and he finally installed the internet router in our house.

It was a huge relief since the first thing I did was to tell my friends that I was doing fine even though I resulted positive.

They were glad to hear from me again and they continued to show their support for me. At the end of it all, it was a pleasant experience, and although I’m writing this story still having COVID, I feel like I’m totally healthy. Well, I’ll say 90% healthy, I still have that shitty cough that comes with COVID (it’s not that bad though).

support
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.