Psyche logo

Hidden Costs of Narcissistic Abuse

Stop hiding abuse. You are worthy... Enough... I believe you...

By Christa Cusack O'NeillPublished 3 years ago 6 min read
4
Narcissistic abuse is cold and heavy

I am now treating my intuition as my spirit, my belief system, and I believe in myself. I will no longer abandon myself or my beliefs because I don't want to get sick again. My body knew, and I got sick. It started with brain fog, hypothyroidism, breast problems, cysts in the body, heavy menses, and much more. All symptoms...

ROOT CAUSE NARCISSISTIC ABUSE.

Sending love and strength to all...

I wish to teach women about self-love, narcissism, and more in my private group @NewGirlsClubbecausetheoldboysclubisOLD ... please join my private group if you want to be supported. Begin your healing journey to recover from narcissistic abuse.

MONDAY MINGLES

Women's desires and dreams matter, and so does the ability to becoming your true authentic self. Heal from narcissistic abuse and discover your true authentic self.

@NEWGIRLSCLUBBECAUSETHEOLDBOYSCLUBISOLD FACEBOOK GROUP

Hi everyone! That little girl is inside of us. Let her out. Let her heal and BE HER.

When I was a little girl, I didn't know what I wanted. I did know I didn't think I wanted to be married. But here I am, two marriages later and separated. Also, I posted in my high school yearbook that I wanted to be a truck driver or a nurse.

In the end, I was really both and many more things. I am starting all over again, and now I finally get to be what I want to be, free, myself, and I am now that little girl inside of me.

I am enough, finally, and I believe in myself, my intuition.

I just received a diploma in screenwriting, and I am working towards a coaching certification and will finish in December 2021.

I am really enjoying my time learning.

#freedomfromnarcissisticabuse

#narcissisminformed®

#dontsavethecat

#dontfeedthecat

TRAUMATALKTUESDAY'S @NEWGIRLSCLUB

What question triggers you?

The heavyweight and feelings associated with the overwhelm when asked a question. For me, a mother, I know the question of

WHAT IS FOR SUPPER?

It is a trigger, and it is for many women.

It is cumbersome for me when I feel burdened with TOO MUCH...

Many negative feelings are associated with this question. I am not enough... Why do I have to be responsible for everything... fear of judgment of not doing everything perfectly... fear of not pleasing my loved ones, anger because of inequality feelings ... and more.

We have to work hard all day at our jobs, whether staying-at-home moms or busy careers. Then we arrive home and have the neverending work reality of being a chef, waitstaff, housekeeper. It never really ends. This is a cumbersome burden for a lot of moms and worldwide. There is no real joy in serving others and not having anything in return which is HEAVY.

Women need to go, go, go. We give, give, give. After making supper with these feelings of hurt, anger, unfairness, and inequality, we still feel NOT ENOUGH, not good enough.

After this, women are too tired to enjoy the rest of their evening. Especially if they live with a narcissist who does not help, who expects you to do everything.

Also, to point out and clarify, if we live with a narcissist, nothing will ever be GOOD ENOUGH because they will never be satisfied.

Setting boundaries is key to dealing with our resistance to change our own behaviors and reactions to these questions and instances that trigger our trauma.

Lovely ladies, we ARE enough.

What question triggers you?

What triggers you is where you need to heal.

Sending love and strength.

Trauma talks Tuesday...

WACKY WEDNESDAY'S @NEWGIRLSCLUB

No, we are NOT CRAZY.

Can you think of a time when you thought you were crazy from the abuse? I can think of many...

When confronted with an abusive scenario, it is normal to physically fight back, use verbal expressions, or emotionally react in intense manners. This is called reactive abuse, and it is a powerful tool that a manipulative abuser may use against you.

Narcissists, psychopaths, sociopaths use reactive abuse to “gaslight.” This will make us think we are the abuser after we react defensively and angrily to the abuse. This will then result in immense feelings of guilt, shame, anxiety, and stress. We FEEL AWFUL from these reactions.

Abusers act out due to their personality disorder (NPD, ANTISOCIAL); there is still NO EXCUSE for this abuse.

Reactive abuse can be prevented or managed by trying to think about responses to this abusive behavior consciously.

I think NO RESPONSE is good and then NO CONTACT...

Abuse can cause inundating inner turmoil, often leading to depression, anxiety, or PTSD. This abuse makes you sick inside. You are not alone in your feelings, and YOU ARE NOT CRAZY. I BELIEVE YOU.

Can you think of something that happened that made you FEEL crazy?

#allmomsmatter

#THIRSTY THURSDAYS @NEWGIRLSCLUB

What are you thirsty for?

Your true inner self wants to be set free so that you can enjoy

Calmness, connections, curiosity, compassion, creativity, confidence, clarity, courage…

But all of your protector parts are taking over to cover up wounds from childhood. Wounds that make you feel not good enough. We spend a lot of time managing these wounds because the scabs to these wounds are so sensitive. Quit banishing that little girl and let her out. Heal yourself... heal that little girl... heal the next generation...

Quit expressing

FEELINGS of

I am not enough

I am worthless

I am unloveable

I am not important

Quit FEELING shame, rejection, abandonment, betrayal…

Protector parts are used so that the scabs of our inner child wounds don’t come off…

Perfectionism, people-pleasing, high achieving, procrastination, judgemental, inner critic, self-sabotage…

Because we hide our wounds and hide abuse, our body knows, and it needs to feel SAFE during these times. We react naturally with emotional eating tendencies, disassociation, anger, shopping, addictions, self-harm, pain, and more...

We need to stop reacting in these unhealthy ways and with unhealthy coping mechanisms, and we need to heal our inner child wounds...

WHAT IS THAT WOUNDED INNER CHILD THIRSTY FOR?

Feed her; she matters. She is enough. She is worthy.

WHAT ARE YOU THIRSTY FOR?

Fr Fl Fi Fa... FRIDAYS

What is your trauma of the week?

Everybody has trauma. Some get to share. Some do not. Here and every Friday, we can share; this will be a safe place. No more hiding our feelings. No more excuses. AND... now SUPPORT.

LET THOSE FEELINGS OUT... DON'T LET THEM GET STUCK...

IT MAKES YOU SICK...

Narcissistic Abuse

4F's Trauma responses

FREEZE

FLIGHT

FIGHT

FAWN

Some trauma for me this week:

I was at the gym, and a younger man was there. I overhear him brag about his musical abilities and other things to others, which is fine. I always see him chatting up ladies and so on. So, he seems very charming. He started to ask me questions, and we got along fine. I could tell that he needs a place to live. I could FEEL my body react to this trauma as I didn't FEEL SAFE, and I started to numb out FREEZE. Then I wanted to argue with him FIGHT, but I didn't. I could have continued the conversation and appeased him, FAWN, and befriended him; I didn't. Instead, I cut my conversation with him short and flew the coop, FLIGHT.

NOBODY FALLS IN LOVE FASTER THAN A NARCISSIST THAT NEEDS SOMEWHERE TO LIVE.

NO THANKS...

What is your trauma of the week?

RELEASE YOUR FEELINGS SO THAT YOU CAN ENJOY YOUR WEEKEND... THEY MATTER...

It is challenging to enjoy self-care (a hot bath) when there is a narcissist in the house.

Please join my private facebook group

@newgirlsclubbecausetheoldboysclubisold

PLEASE LIKE MY STORY AND SEND A DONATION TODAY...

trauma
4

About the Creator

Christa Cusack O'Neill

CERTIFIED NARCISSISTIC TRAUMA-INFORMED COACH™ SCREENWRITER - Comedian - Award-winning - TQM Focused - Filmmaker - Mother's Point of View - Empowered Empath - Grew up on a hobby farm - Goats - Yoga - Dreamer - Cat & Heart & Water Lover

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.