Psyche logo

Here Goes Nothin’

The Story of How I Overcame the Most Challenging Obstacle I’ve Ever Faced

By Kyleigh KeovilayPublished 6 years ago 3 min read
Like
Keep your eyes on the horizon ; you’ll get through this 

I've never told this story before, but here goes nothing. At one point in my life, I went through this period where I felt like nothing. No one really knew, or knows, but I did somethings that I am not proud of.

At the age of 13, I started to take more notice in my image. I had never been the smallest person, and I started to obsess about it. I would look up pictures of models and envy their figure. I felt that because of my image no one would ever love me. I had started to go into a dark place. There was never a moment that I wasn't thinking of what I ate. I began to fear food. At this point only two people knew what I had done, and I had withheld some details to one of them. I felt that if I told someone, I would be in trouble, or would never be looked at the same.

I had only recently told my mother about it. I share with her the first time I had purged and why I stopped. I remember we were in Vermont. We had gone to Golden Coral for dinner. The whole weekend we were there I tried to make myself purge, and nothing would come up. I remember crying because I couldn't do it. Then after dinner I told my family I was going to the bathroom. I remember what I had thrown up, it was chocolate ice cream. I remember being so happy that I had done it. The satisfaction I felt was euphoric. The best part was I walk to the table as if nothing happened and no one had known what I had done.

I eventually stumbled upon a series of article on eating disorders and what they do to you. They cause cancer, heart problems, and emotional trauma. I never told anyone except those two people I mentioned before. Over the course of a little less than a year I kept trying but was again never able to bring anything up. One night I was crying in bed and thought about how I am not only hurting myself, but I am going to hurt my mom, my friends, my dad, everyone was going to be affected if I continued down the road I was on. It took time and I did "relapse" and would try to make myself purge again. But eventually I changed my ways. I never did tell anyone else until today. As I sit here writing I realize my head was not in a good place back then. That was not healthy.

I was able to overcome this myself and it was the most difficult thing I had to do as a 13 year old. I can't imagine how those people with much different cases than mine are going through. Eating disorders are no laughing matter. Sharing my story is the hardest thing I have done because I was always afraid people would look at me differently. I have a wonderful mom who means the world to me and the thought of disappointing her sickens me. I now realize that she would never judge me like that.

I was never professionally diagnosed with an eating disorder, nor do I say I had/have an eating disorder. But at the path I was going down, it could have been worse. By sharing my story I hope to help other girls and even boys to overcome their challenges. To this day I still think about my weight, I still have horrible self esteem. But everyday I am growing more and more, and I hope that one day I can love myself. Sharing this part of my life is difficult, but letting it out feels good. I hope that one day no one will ever have to go through a time in there life that is dark. Every day I am learning that beauty is more than just looks. This is how I came up with my pen name Kalon which means beauty that is more than skin deep. I hope that my story helps others who are going through something similar.

eating
Like

About the Creator

Kyleigh Keovilay

Ameature poet-photographer-minimalist

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.