Psyche logo

Hello, My Name Is Depression

A Short Incomplete Life Story

By deletedPublished 5 years ago 3 min read
Like

Warning: Triggers of depression, anxiety, suicide, and self-harm.

5

I was first 10 years old when you came knocking at my door. I was a tall, short-haired fifth grader. I seemed pretty average, I really wasn’t anything special, but I was hiding a secret: I was depressed. At the time I was bullied by some of the popular kids and even by my own friends. I mean I don’t blame them, I was shy and short-tempered. My dad had been verbally abusive my whole life, he constantly put me down, and it took a huge toll on my self-esteem. At that point in time I had nothing and no one; it was the first time I wanted to commit suicide, and it I wasn’t the last. I thought that feeling would go away, but it never really did.

6

I eventually moved to a new neighbourhood the next year and I started at a new school. It was amazing, I met so many new people, and I tried so many new things. That was even the year I got my first “boyfriend.” That year I let out one of my biggest secrets. I came out to my close friends as Pansexual, and by the end of the year, I was completely open with my friends and school about it. I didn’t tell my family at that point because my mother was very strict and critical about her opinions involving the church.

7

Grade seven rolled around quicker than I thought it would and I was starting at my senior elementary school, sure I met a lot of new people, but the workload was a lot more and my mental state rapidly declined. I had no way of coping with emotions and everything just bottled up until it just exploded. That year I had mental breakdowns in class because I just couldn’t take anymore of it, even if it was over the stupidest things.

8

I started grade eight. My class had lots of great friends and definitely some class clowns, but this year was something else. I noticed my grades starting to drop and my depressive episodes getting worse. This year was the first time I ever wanted to cut myself. Though I never did, my mind was still haunted with thoughts of self-harm, suicide, and self-deprecation. At this point in time I started to be able to trust my friends and was able to talk about it, but no one really understood what it meant or what was to come. I had just graduated from senior elementary school and was heading into grade nine in September. It was the mid-summer—early August to be exact—which really sucks because my birthday is August 7th. This day was extra horrible, things had been getting worse and worse, so I picked up a pair of sewing scissors and made a small cut across my ankle.

9

It’s now May and I’m soon finishing grade nine. The things that have happened since the summer are probably more than enough to write a whole book on, but all I’m going to say is, “I have been through a lot of shit this year.” Here is the present day me. I have a boyfriend who I love very much. I still suffer from depression and anxiety disorders, but I’m on the waitlist for adolescence psychiatry. I still suffer from suicidal thoughts and I still cut my ankles, but at a greater degree now. This year has probably been the worst for my dear friend depression, and I hope you can go home soon.

depression
Like

About the Creator

deleted

ignore all posts

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.